Garlic Mushrooms In White Wine

I think I’ve mentioned here before that sometimes I’m not entirely happy with the choice of mushrooms we get here in the shops in Germany. There’s either your basic white or brown mushroom, if you’re lucky you’ll find portobellos, and if you’re extremely lucky, you’ll find small ones.

Last weekend I was extremely lucky, wandering through a market with a friend and seeing small mushrooms. I knew immediately what I wanted to make.

But let me tell you what I just found out researching mushrooms online – maybe you knew all this already, but I didn’t.

Wikipedia just told me that the types of mushrooms I get here are the most common ones in the world, but what surprised me to see was that these are apparently immature mushrooms. Once they’re mature they become portobellos. The immature variety is called common mushroom, button mushroom, or white mushroom, and it’s also available in brown.

So when I found the small common mushrooms at the market, I knew I’d be making garlic mushrooms. Of course, there’s a story to that, too, but feel free to skip it and go straight down to the recipe.

In my youth I decided to move to England. My then best friend accompanied me, we drove over, and while it was a two-week vacation for my friend, I was looking for both a job and a place to live. In the meantime we were invited to live with my former school exchange partner’s family.

This went pretty well. In the beginning… After a few days it started getting awkward, especially at the dinner table. While the family was in the habit of discussing daily political events, my friend and I were talking about which heavy metal concert we could visit next, and we often got the giggles for no reason. Our musical tastes, the way we dressed, and those uncontrollabe giggles were quite frowned upon. A cultural clash, really.

We decided to escape the daily dinner by going to a close-by pub several times a week, and this is where we discovered garlic mushrooms in white wine. We liked this dish so much that it was the first thing I cooked for us when I finally found myself a place to live.

Over the years, this dish was forgotten until it popped into my head out of nowhere six years ago, when I posted it on my German blog. I’m sorry to say that I haven’t made it again since then, and that was mainly due to that shortage of small mushrooms.

I’m currently in the process of putting together a little cookbook for myself featuring all my favourite recipes I post here on the blog (because I always go online to find my own recipes…), so maybe that’ll make me remember to cook this more often.

OK, this was a really long story, so if you’re still with me – thank you 🙂 .

As I don’t drink white wine, I only ever buy small bottles for cooking, which I forgot in my enthusiasm over finding the mini mushrooms, but luckily I had a bottle of Pinot Grigio in my wine rack – which might be too good for cooking, but I’m afraid I woudn’t really know. If you feel like making this dish, best use a white wine that you also like to drink.

Don’t be put off by the 6 garlic cloves I used – these are called garlic mushrooms, after all 🙂 .

This recipe is very easy and also quite quickly done. The amount I made makes 3 small or 2 larger starters. These garlic mushrooms are best served with white bread, be it rustic, plain baguette, herb baguette, or plain toast. And a glass of wine, naturally!

Garlic Mushrooms In White Wine Sauce

  • Servings: 2 - 3 as a starter
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

300 g small mushrooms
6 garlic cloves, finely chopped
120 g butter
250 ml white wine
½ tsp salt
freshly ground black pepper

bread to serve
finely chopped flat leaf parsley to serve (optional)

Clean the mushrooms [I only brush them], if necessary trim the stems but don’t cut them off. If you have larger mushrooms, halve or quarter them but leave small ones whole.

Heat butter in a pan and slightly brown the mushrooms. Reduce heat, add the garlic and sauté but make sure it doesn’t brown. There should be enough butter left in the pot for the mushrooms to swim slightly. If that is not the case, add more butter.

Add the white wine and simmer at medium heat for about 15 minutes. The wine should be reduced by then, but there should still be enough to cover the mushrooms.

Serve in individual bowls with bread (e.g. rustic, plain baguette, herb baguette, or plain toast), and sprinkle with the parsley if using.

