Parsley Paste

Remember that Oils & Salts evening class I wrote about in March? Well, I realised months later that I had forgotten to mention one other thing we made – parsley paste. If you read the original post, you might know that I wasn’t too happy with how that class had turned out, or rather with what we produced. For one thing, the oils, vinegars and salts were of the cheapest variety, and in general we just made too many salts for my taste.

Funny I forgot the parsley paste, really, because it was me who got the task to make it at the class! Everyone only got to take home about 2 – 3 tablespoonfuls, and for my taste it was a tad too salty. However, I tried it spread on a piece of buttered bread as well as a topping for tomato soup, and it was really good.

I’ve been meaning to make this paste ever since but as usual other ideas took priority.

This week I looked up the recipes we received at the class and finally got it done. The salt measurements in the recipe below are my adapted ones, as the original says 2 tbsp coarse sea salt. I only used 1 tbsp and still found it too much.

For adding to soups this would probably be okay if you intended for the paste to be the only seasoning, but for adding to salads or using it as a spread it would be too salty. I would suggest starting out with ยฝ tbsp and taking it from there. If used as a spread on buttered bread, the butter needs to be unsalted, otherwise… salt overload for the taste buds!

By the way, the original recipe is called herb paste / ground elder paste. Ground elder is also known as goutweed, and I have to admit I’d never heard of or seen either before this class. You can basically use any (wild) herb you fancy to make this paste.

Parsley Paste

  • Servings: makes about 150 ml
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

80 g flatleaf parsley
ยฝ tbsp coarse sea salt
oil [rapeseed, thistle or olive oil – I used olive]

Wash the parsley and dry it really well, pick the leaves off the stalks, then finely chop them.

Place chopped parsley in a high bowl or jug, add the salt and a little olive oil, then blend everything [I used an immersion blender]. Add more oil as you go, until the paste gets a creamy consistency. During blending, taste the paste and see if you want to add more salt.

Once the paste has reached a creamy consistency, place it in a clean jar, cover it with a little oil [this needs to be topped up when using some of the paste so it won’t dry out], seal jar, and keep the paste in the fridge.

Parsley paste goes well with pasta, bread, vegetable soups, and salad dressings.

