Marinated Manchego & Burrata

In this heat wave we’re currently having, I didn’t feel much like cooking all week – except for the day when we had 32ºC and I thought I had to make lasagne… pure madness, and I stuck the whole thing in the freezer for work lunches instead of eating it.

For lack of inspiration, I browsed the restaurant websites I have bookmarked at work, and among those I found the menu from a restaurant in Munich (no idea why I had saved that). On that menu I found a starter that just said Lime | Manchego | Walnuts.

I was intrigued and thinking about how to present this, when I remembered a favourite recipe by British chef Sophie Grigson that I like to make for guests as a starter: Marinated Parmesan and Mozzarella with Garlic, Capers and Lemon.

In Grigson’s recipe you simply arrange the parmesan and buffalo mozzarella on a platter and marinate it. So I thought that’s what I would do with the manchego. I almost did a little happy dance at a supermarket I only visit once in a while when I saw they had small burratas in their cooler section. So instead of buffalo mozzarella I decided to use burrata with the manchego. Then it would be mint instead of parsley, and the addition of the walnuts.

I didn’t give any amounts of ingredients in the recipe, because you really can use up however much cheese you have, don’t use too many capers because they can easily dominate, and for the oil : lime ratio, I used about 3 tbsp oil : 2 tbsp lime juice for the two plates you see in the pictures.

This made for a great lunch – naturally you can make it a starter, too – with the manchego and burrata going well together. I actually prefer the manchego version to the parmesan one, as the latter tends to be a little too sharp for my taste.

I enjoyed this with a glass of Aperol Sour, which gave the whole thing a bit of a holiday feeling.

Marinated Manchego & Burrata

Manchego, at room temperature, thinly sliced
Burrata, at room temperature, drained (alternatively, use buffalo mozzarella)
lime zest
lime juice
olive oil
capers
walnuts, coarsely chopped
mint leaves, finely chopped

Take Manchego out of the fridge and slice over a mandoline, then leave out to get to room temperature.

Drain the burrata and leave out to get to room temperature.

Shortly before serving, mix lime zest, juice and olive oil to your taste.

Arrange cheeses on individual plates or a larger platter, ripping apart the burrata, sprinkle with capers and walnuts, drizzle with dressing, and sprinkle with some mint.

 

