White Russian Panna Cotta

I usedย  to love White Russian cocktails, but haven’t had one for almost seven years, because… *ahem*… I think that the cream in the fifth one had gone off ๐Ÿ˜‚ .

During my last kitchen cleaning, I discovered a bottle of Sheridan’s in the cupboard underneath the sink that had been a gift and sitting in there forever. If you don’t know Sheridan’s, it comes in a bottle with two spouts, one pouring a coffee-layered liqueur and the other some white creamy stuff. I didn’t care for the creamy stuff at all and was wondering what I could use the coffee-layered liqueur for, when I remembered White Russian cocktails.

A White Russian is made from Kahlรนa, which is another type of coffee-layered liqueur, vodka, and cream. I was kind of missing White Russian cocktails but am still not sure it would sit well with my stomach, so I thought I’d turn it into a panna cotta instead. I don’t think I’ve made a panna cotta in a while, so what better excuse.

I didn’t want to have vodka in my panna cotta, so I used just the coffee-layered liqueur and cream. I also didn’t want to just mix it together, but the idea was to make both ingredients visible, possibly making it look kind of as if a cocktail was being mixed, so the first layer was just the liqueur, the second layer was a mixture of the liqueur and cream, and the third layer was cream only.

My first try with the liqueur layer went wrong, because I didn’t use enough gelatine. I only used about a fifth of a gelatine sheet*, and when the liquid hadn’t set after a couple of hours, I poured it back into the pot and added the rest of the sheet*.

Luckily the rest went smoothly. As the first layer is so thin, the second try with more gelatine only took about 50 minutes to set. The second layer was twice the amount of liquid and took 2ยฝ hours to set, and the third layer was poured in the evening, so I let it sit in the fridge overnight, but as it’s a little less liquid than the second layer, it would take about 2 hours to set.

First thing this morning I went to the fridge and checked the result. It looked great, so I was sure it would taste great, too. I had one panna cotta for breakfast right after the photo shoot, and it was fantastic!

This didn’t take as long to make as I had anticipated; the cooking time is about 10 minutes for each layer, and you can go do something else while each layer sets.

The coffee-layered liqueur was already very sweet, so I didn’t add any sugar to that nor to the mixed layer. The third layer – cream only – had 2 tsp sugar added. For decoration purposes and a bit of colour in the pictures I added a little finely grated milk chocolate and a raspberry to serve.

Not only did the result look beautiful, it turned out great taste-wise. Quite the substitute for the real cocktail…

*Note: 1 German gelatine sheet is 12 x 7 cm of size and weighs about 0.3 grams. This might vary in other countries!

White Russian Panna Cotta

Layer 1
75 ml coffee-layered liqueur
1 gelatine sheet*

Layer 2
100 ml coffee-layered liqueur
150 ml (heavy) cream
2 gelatine sheets*

Layer 3
150 ml (heavy) cream
2 tsp sugar
1ยฝ gelatine sheets*

* 1 German gelatine sheet is 12 x 7 cm of size and weighs about 0.3 grams. This might vary in other countries!

For the first layer, soak gelatine sheet in cold water. Meanwhile, heat coffee-layered liqueur in a very small pot, and once it starts to boil, take it off the heat and set aside.
When the gelatine sheet has softened in the cold water (about 10 minutes), squeeze it well to remove as much of the water as possible, then quickly stir it into the coffee-layered liqueur and keep stirring until gelatine has completely dissolved.
Divide liqueur into three serving dishes and refrigerate until set (about 1 hour).

For the second layer, mix together the liqueur and cream, then proceed as with layer 1. Setting time for this layer is about 2ยฝ hours.

For the third layer, cook the cream with 2 tsp sugar, then proceed as with the other layers. Setting time for this layer is about 2 hours.

Serve as is, or decorate with some grated chocolate and a raspberry each.

