Korean BBQ Brisket

Let me set the facts straight first: I haven’t got the foggiest about Korean cuisine. A couple of years ago I read a blog post about Asian pulled pork and thought I might give that a try at some point. While at an Asian supermarket recently, I remembered that plan, and because I’m not familiar with the Asian cuisine except for Indian, I decided to buy a jar of Korean BBQ sauce for chicken and pork.

Then this weekend I was a little disappointed the butcher’s didn’t have pork butt, so I bought brisket instead. And that’s really all there is to how this came about – and there’s not much of a recipe either, to be honest. But it did taste delicious!

I had no idea what the sauce would taste like – fancy not opening the jar for a taste before buying the meat! What kind of cook am I!? – I was just hoping it wouldn’t be too salty, because I’m not really a fan of soy sauce; when I do use it, I use the low sodium one, and even that I use very sparingly.

I decided I’d add vegetables shortly before the end of cooking time and chose a mini broccoli, mini cauliflower, green asparagus, finely sliced onions, and mushrooms.

I slightly browned 1 kg of brisket in a bit of olive oil in a non-stick pan, then transferred it to a Dutch oven and added the sauce; it then went into the oven at 150°C / 300°F on the middle shelf for 5½ hours.

As the sauce only covered half the meat (which is normal), I turned the meat about every 1½ hours. 40 minutes before end of cooking time I added 4 tbsp of dark brown sugar and the vegetables, and 20 minutes before end of cooking time I started cooking rice.

It all turned out very delicious and pretty much perfect considering I didn’t really have any expectations. The brisket fell apart at the touch of a fork, I just love this oven magic – so little effort and such great results.

