Kopenhagener

Considering I recently said here that these days I much prefer cooking to baking, here I am yet again presenting you with baked goods.

This is another recipe I originally made for my German blog, and I remembered it because I was thinking about a trip to Copenhagen the other day; I’ve wanted to go for years now but never got around to it. Kopenhagener is German and means from Copenhagen. Here is how I came to make these sweet things. BTW – you can look at my first try here – I think they looked better then, I noticed my puff pastry dough was very different to handle this time, they might have changed the recipe as it was thinner than usual and I’m quite sure they reduced the amount of dough as well.

A couple of years ago, every Friday morning on my way to work I would look at the sweets display at my favourite bakery and pick one piece to try, and if I liked it, I would recreate it at home. Kopenhagener was one such piece. I was able to determine it was made of a very soft puff pastry and filled with marzipan, hazelnuts, and topped with almond slivers.

My version didn’t turn out as sweet as the bakery’s but the moment you bit into the marzipan, you got a little sweet kick. Really delicious. I saw in my old recipe that I had sprinkled unsweetened cocoa powder on the inside but I don’t think this was part of the bakery’s Kopenhagener. I once made these for guests, and they were surprised when I said I had made them, they thought they were from the bakery. What better compliment!?

This time I substituted the chopped hazelnuts for almonds and added chocolate flakes. That didn’t make them better or worse, I just wanted to try something different. I also didn’t have proper jelly to brush them with, so I used the sea buckthorn jam I had open; that worked fine, even though I didn’t heat it first. I wouldn’t use any old jam or marmelade, though, it’s easiest to use a jelly (quince, pear, apple) or a smooth jam with no fruit bits, like apricot or sea buckthorn. You don’t really want to be able to taste the jam, it’s just for making the almond slivers stick to the pastry.

Kopenhagener

  • Servings: 8 pieces
  • Time: 10 mins prep + 20-30 mins baking
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

1 roll pastry (from the cooler section, not frozen!)
unsweetened cocoa powder
chocolate flakes (optional)
200 g marzipan
chopped almonds or hazelnuts
almond slivers
neutral jelly or jam for brushing
icing sugar to decorate

Unroll puff pastry and cut into 8 equal sized rectangles. Sift some cocoa powder on top, then sprinkle with some chocolate flakes.

Cut marzipan into 8 equal sized pices, each about 3 mm thick, place one each on top of the dough rectangles, then sprinkle with the chopped nuts.

Preheat oven to 160°C / 325°F (non-fan).

Fold dough over to close the top and slightly press together, press the ends together as well, or roll them underneath. Brush with jelly or jam [if using jam, heating it slightly will make it easier to brush], then stick the almond slivers on top. [I brushed some jam over the almond slivers as well to make them a bit glossy so they won’t burn.]

Bake for 20 minutes, check colour, and bake until surface is slightly browned. [Mine took between 25-30 minutes.] Remove from oven, leave to cool, then serve decorated with icing sugar.

 

