Sausage & Cheese Spoon Dumplings

Let me state the obvious first: this is not a pretty dish. Add to that the fact that I decided to take my food pics in front of a different window today, then you’ll probably understand why I needed to use a preset (like a filter) over these pics. What really counts, though, is that no matter how it looks – this is a tasty, hearty, filling and quick dish.

Eating lunch with my colleagues last week, our conversation was about family recipes. I remembered this one but not the name, and it turns out that a few of my colleagues knew this dish from their childhood as well, in different variations, but no one had a name for it. The only things we established were that we all knew those dumplings as Löffelknödel, which literally translated means spoon dumplings, and that the sausage used was Krakauer, which is Krakowska.

I called my mother to find out more about the name of this dish, but it turned out she didn’t remember either, only that she got the recipe from a colleague.

What I remembered was that I’m not really keen on Krakauer, which is why I decided to use German Bierwurst in this recipe.

The dumpling dough is basically a Spätzle recipe to which the sausage is added. As this is a very plain dish, I decided last minute to add grated cheese to the dough, which I’d never done before. It was a good idea, but the cheese should be a mild hard cheese; I chose Manchego because it’s neither too hard nor too soft, and it’s mild enough not to dominate.

I’m happy to have made this, it was a flashback to my childhood, and I realised it’s quite quick to make and can be experimented with, with different types of sausage as well as cheese.

As is my habit with plain dishes, I added a bit of hot chilli peppers and some crème légère on top to serve, but this is not part of the original recipe.

 

Sausage & Cheese Spoon Dumplings

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: 30 - 40 mins
  • Print

Spätzle dough
300 g flour
3 medium eggs
1 tsp salt
water as needed

150 g Krakowska or German Bierwurst, finely diced
70 g Manchego, coarsley grated
butter

In a bowl, mix together flour, salt and eggs, adding a little bit of water and adding more as needed. The dough should be gooey. Mix until you can see bubbles building. [Using a handheld mixer or kitchen machine, this should take no longer than 10 minutes.] Once air bubbles are visible, add the sausage and cheese, and mix well.

Bring a pot of water with 2 tsp salt to the boil [I usually use 3 tsp, but the cheese is salty so 2 tsp is enough]. Place a bowl with a colander over it next to the stove.

Once the water is boiling, take a portion of dough using a very small teaspoon and drop it into the water [by inserting the teaspoon into the boiling water]. Do this in batches – the dumplings will rise to the surface within a couple of minutes, remove them with a slotted spoon and place them in your dish holding the colander. Repeat until all dough is gone.

Heat a non-stick frying pan, add butter and fry the dumplings until they’re slightly browned. Serve plain  or with some crème légère or sour cream.

