Cheesy Potato Soup

cheesy-potato-soup-02

Straight after last Saturday’s bread making I went on to make this cheesy potato soup. Once again it came about through reading a book. Someone was getting cheesy potato soup from a deli, and I was wondering how you’d make that kind of soup. Rather than searching the web for existing recipes, I like to come up with something all of my own.

I decided to boil the diced potatoes in vegetable stock, purée them and add cheese. I had several cheeses in the fridge and had forgotten all about the Le Président camembert I had bought for this specifically and went for the Manchego instead. I thought this would fit nicely with the chorizo I intended to add before serving. I also thought that mustard would have to go into this soup, so I added both Dijon and sweet grainy mustard, the type you have with Weisswurst.

I was quite pleased with the result, especially as it wasn’t really much work, but I would definitely make changes next time. For one, I added too much mustard. I added, stirred, added, stirred… because somehow I couldn’t taste the mustard. In the end, though, when the soup was served, the mustard dominated a little. So definitely less mustard next time.

Then my choice of cheese wasn’t the best one; contrary to the mustard, it didn’t taste cheesy enough. I think the Manchego was too mild for this. I’ll give this another try with the Le Président camembert as well as a third try with white cheddar. I was hoping for a more gooey consistency, too. Another possibility instead of stirring the cheese into the soup would be to add it after serving, just sprinkle and stir, taste, repeat… until the consistency and taste are up to expectations.

Don’t get me wrong, the soup tasted very good, but I’m convinced it can taste better. In the recipe below you’ll find more conservative amounts of mustard as you can always adjust to your taste.

My freshly made bread was perfect to go with this soup. I also sprinkled thyme leaves onto the soup and added some fried chorizo pieces. A really nice soup for a cold day.

cheesy-potato-soup-01

Cheesy Potato Soup

  • Servings: 6
  • Time: 1 hour
  • Print

750 g potatoes
2 vegetable stock cubes
salt
sweet grainy mustard
Dijon mustard
175 g Manchego [or stronger cheese], finely grated
chorizo, halved lengthways and cut into thin slices
thyme sprigs
freshly ground black pepper

Peel potatoes and cut into small cubes, then place in a pot with 2 vegetable stock cubes and 1 tsp salt and top up with water. Bring to boil and let cook for about 20 minutes, until the potatoes are soft.

With a slotted spoon, remove some the potatoes from the stock and place in a bowl, then add a ladleful of stock and purée the potatoes with an immersion blender. Proceed until all the potatoes are puréed and add stock as you go.

Whisk in the grated cheese bit by bit and add more stock until you get the desired consistency.

Add 1 – 2 tsp Dijon mustard and 3 tsp sweet mustard. Stir or whisk well so the mustard is properly distributed. Add more if desired.

Fry the chorizo in a non-stick pan (without additional fat) until slightly roasted, and pluck the leaves from the thyme sprigs while the chorizo cooks.

To serve, distribute soup into bowls, add a few turns of black pepper, sprinkle with thyme leaves and place a few chorizo slices on top. Serve with fresh rustic bread.

cheesy-potato-soup-03

