Sniffles-free Into The Holiday Season

4dc_3719-lr-dfn

A few days before my UK trip I got the sniffles. I was hoping it wouldn’t turn into a head cold or the flu, and I got a little panicky because flying with a cold is extremely unpleasant. The same day I happened upon the typical magazine tips on how to fight off colds. Normally I would just skip such articles because even though they involve natural ingredients it always seems like you have to do stuff like boil onions and the such. I can never be bothered.

The one I decided to try was not like that at all. It was the one most everyone knows about anyway (but probably never tried because, like me, they’re too lazy). I was desperate to stay healthy for my vacation. I had everything at home except the brandy that the article said you could add a dash of (and then go straight to bed). I’ve never had brandy at home, but the bottle of baked apple cordial I made last year was sitting on my kitchen counter, so I added a dash of that as well as some honey. I had bought a small jar of organic (and expensive…) acacia honey at a food fair a couple of months ago, and it’s the best honey I’ve ever had.

Since I’ve been back from my vacation, weirdly I get the sniffles from out of nowhere, then the next few days – nothing. Then it starts again for just one day and goes away – either because I immediately make this drink once they appear, or because it might be allergies and not the sniffles. No matter which – this drink is great if you already have a cold, think you might be getting one, or just to have as a preventative measure.

Peel 1 organic lemon, then slice it. Place peel and slices in a small pot and add 300 ml water. Bring to boil, then add a dash of brandy (or your tipple of choice) and let simmer for 3 minutes. Pour through a sieve into a mug and add some acacia honey. Drink immediately, as hot as possible, snuggled up on the couch or in bed.

On this note, I wish you all peaceful & sniffles-free holidays!

 

