Potato & Onion Stuffed Portobellos

potato-onion-portobellos-01

Even though I live in a big city, some food items cannot be come by easily. I remember my quest for yellow beet a few years ago; and just when I’d given up, I found some at the city market. Nowhere else, though. The same seems to go for portobello mushrooms. If I fancied having a portobello, I couldn’t just go to the supermarket, because you’ll only find some if you’re really lucky. And if you do, they might turn out to look as if they’d been there for two weeks.

potato-onion-portobellos-02

Which is why I was surprised to find some beautiful portobellos at the Friday market last week. I bought two, as usual not knowing what exactly I’d make, but I couldn’t pass up this unexpected opportunity. The next morning I thought I might make some breakfast portobellos, as I haven’t had any since I made these, but then decided to have them for lunch instead. I needed something filling because I was craving comfort food on that rainy day, so I chose finely diced potatoes and finely sliced onions. Added a little Gruyère to the mix, sprinkled with some parsley left over from the carrot soup, and – you can’t see that in the pictures – drizzled it all with Sriracha Mayoo. I just love that this hot sauce is now available as a mayo version.

The potato & onion filling came about because I love pan-fried thinly sliced potatoes with equally thinly sliced onions. Fried in butter to which I usually add the salt and some paprika before I add the potatoes. Only, I’d already had that the day before, so I tried a different version and filled the portobellos with it.

I really like the result. Simple, filling, satisfied my craving for comfort food.

potato-onion-portobellos-03

Potato & Onion Stuffed Portobellos

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: 50 - 60 mins
  • Print

2 portobello mushrooms
2 large potatoes
1 large onion
butter
1 tsp salt
1 tsp paprika
2 tsp raw cane sugar
freshly ground black pepper
ca. 60 g Gruyère (or any cheese of your choice), coarsely grated
1 tsp chopped flat leaf parsley (optional)

Peel potatoes and cut into small cubes. Peel onion and slice finely. In a non-stick frying pan, heat a generous amount of butter; when it starts melting, add the salt and paprika, and stir well. Next add the potatoes and fry until they get a good colour and look crisp (about 15 – 20 minutes). Remove from pan, then add more butter to the pan. Add the cane sugar, stir well, then add the onions and fry until softened. Remove from pan.

In a bowl, mix together potatoes and onions, add some freshly ground black pepper, and add salt if necessary.

Remove the stems from the portobellos, spoon a little of the potato & onion mix into the portobello “bowl”, add a little cheese, fill with the remaining potato & onion mix. Top with a generous amount of cheese.

Place on a baking tray and cook on middle shelf at 200°C / 400°F for 20 minutes. Remove from oven and sprinkle with parsley, if using.

potato-onion-portobellos-04