Roasted Carrot Soup

roasted-carrot-soup-05

By rights this should be called Roasted Violet Carrot Soup, but alas, the violet colour disappeared during puréeing. Nevertheless, this is one really tasty soup. I don’t make soup too often, at least not the creamy variety.

I happened to see this really beautiful bunch of violet carrots at the market, and as it was raining, the drops on the carrots made the bunch look even prettier. Even though I hadn’t known at the time what I would be making, I just had to buy it.

At home – after taking pics of the still dripping beautiful bunch, naturally 🙂 – I decided on something healthy, like roasted carrots with quinoa. Well, nothing came of my plans because I had two bags of tomatoes that needed to be made into sauce, so I didn’t feel like spending the whole day in the kitchen.

roasted-carrot-soup-04-dfn

This week at the Friday market I bought another bunch, because you can’t have enough carrots in the fridge, right?! It was raining all week last week, and it’s really no fun carrying a handbag, all the market buys and an umbrella, the mood for leisurely strolling through the market lanes simply wasn’t there; I was just trying to get home as quickly as possible.

I still thought I’d be making the roasted carrots and quinoa, but then the horrible weather seemed to whisper soup into my ear constantly. So soup it was – with roasted carrots.

This is a really simple soup, and it’s done pretty quickly, too. While the carrots are in the oven you can prepare everything else. I added just a bit of crushed cumin seeds to the roasting carrots, and I topped the soup with chopped carrots and parsley that I pan roasted. Drizzle end result with some pumpkin seed oil and voilà – perfect comfort food for a rainy day.

roasted-carrot-soup-03

I really liked that the violet carrots kept their sweet-ish taste, the cumin complemented them but didn’t dominate, and the topping was the perfect finishing touch.

I went by rule of thumb here with the ingredients and didn’t measure anything. It’s not really necessary either, because once you decide how many carrots you want to use, everything else depends on the consistency you prefer.

I used 12 medium-sized carrots, added some vegetable stock during puréeing, then added cream. Whenever you notice your soup is too thick, just add more stock, or more cream when it’s too thin. The amount I got out of this was two small servings.

roasted-carrot-soup-02

Roasted Carrot Soup

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: 20 mins prep + 40 mins roasting
  • Print

bunch of (violet) carrots
2 tsp cumin seeds
olive oil
few turns of freshly ground salt
1 vegetable stock cube
cream
1 -2 handfuls flat leaf parsley
butter for frying
pumpkin seed oil (optional)

Peel carrots and cut all but 2 into slices (0,5 cm / 1/4 in max). Cut the remaining carrots into small pieces, then finely chop together with the parsley [I used a mini blender] and set aside.

Place the sliced carrots on a small baking tray, grind the cumin seeds in a mortar, sprinkle over the carrots, add a few turns of salt, then add some olive oil – just enough so the carrots won’t stick to the tray but not so much that they swim. Roast on middle shelf at 200° / 400°F for 20 minutes, then stir through and roast for another 15 minutes. Leave to cool for a few minutes.

While the carrots are roasting, make some broth using about 400 ml water and the stock cube, let simmer for a bit, then remove from heat.

Next fry the chopped carrots and parsley in a generous amount of butter. Lower heat and let sit for a while but keep an eye on it so it doesn’t burn. When the mixture seems crisp, remove from heat.

Once the carrots are done, place them in a receptacle, add some stock, and purée. Once done, start adding some cream, then – depending on the desired consistency – add more stock or cream. When the mixture has reached the desired consistency, check/adjust seasoning, pour into a pot and slowly heat.

To serve, divide among bowls, add a generous amount of the carrot & parsley topping, and drizzle with a bit of pumpkin seed oil.

roasted-carrot-soup-01