Prop Love – Everyday Props

everyday-props-01

I’ve often said here that if there’s one thing I don’t need, it’s more props. Or plates, dishes, bowls in general. And yet, I still sometimes succumb to the call of a pretty plate or bowl.

I have made a promise to myself that if I buy something new, then something old that isn’t used regularly needs to go first. Although I look through my cupboards regularly to see if there’s something I couldn’t part with the last time but still haven’t used, there is still too much stuff in there.

Now you can probably guess that the two plates in the picture are new. What’s my excuse for that? Well, I’ve recently celebrated an anniversary for being with my current company for a long while. Once a year, everyone celebrating such an anniversary is invited for a dinner together, and is then presented with a generous voucher for a close-by shopping mall. I happened to see above plates in one of the department stores and decided to use part of my voucher for them. So you see, they were basically for free😀 . That’s my excuse! Which, of course, still leaves me with too much stuff in my cupboards.

When I saw these two lovely pieces, I could immediately envision them in a food post, but I also knew straight away that I’d be using them every day, too. I really enjoy sitting down to a meal served on one of those plates, and the fact that they make for a nice prop is just a bonus.

I currently have white IKEA plates (breakfast plates and flat dinner plates), but after about 10 years of use they show some serious wear left by knife-marks etc. For the last year or so I’ve been wanting to replace them but it seems that I’m either too picky or too stingy to pay 15€ for a dinner plate that you need 6 or 8 of, plus breakfast plates. Yet, I decided against buying more of the grey plates because unfortunately (or fortunately!) there are no flat ones in the series. And seeing as I didn’t invite anyone for dinner this past year (how did that happen!?), I’m not in a hurry to replace the old plates.

Using these new plates made me decide to make my other props everyday props, too. Use them as often as I can, not just for food shots because if I like the look of them in pictures, I know I will also enjoy eating from them on a daily basis.

What kind of person are you? Do you have specific props just for shooting, or do you use your everyday things in shoots? I’d be interested to know!