Amaretto & Cream Apple Cake

amaretto-cream-apple-cake-01

Today I went back to my handwritten recipe book of other people’s recipes, where I’d also found the brownie recipe I posted recently. Other people in this case are family, friends and colleagues. I was planning on making a kind of Madeira cake, didn’t find a recipe in this book, and decided on Amaretto & Cream Apple Cake because I had four apples left that needed to be used up.

The recipe for this cake is from a former colleague’s wife, and I don’t know if it was her own recipe or from a magazine. In those days before the internet you didn’t really need to note the source just in case you were going to post it – because there was nowhere to post it🙂 .

amaretto-cream-apple-cake-02

This cake was made quicker than I remembered. What I did remember, though, was that this kind of dough and I are never going to be friends. The recipe is for a 24 cm spring-clip tin but I could never manage to stretch the dough that far. It would have to be rolled out extremely thinly to fit that kind of tin, especially with a rim, and then it would break due to its softness. Also, no matter how long I refrigerate this dough, it’ll always be too soft and tear.

So this time – because I only had four apples – I decided to make the original amount of dough but make mini cakes. I wanted to use these two cute turquoise moulds that I’d bought, and it turned out the dough was enough for three moulds. Divided into three smaller pieces, the dough was manageable and didn’t break.

amaretto-cream-apple-cake-03

The apples I had were two Granny Smith and two Delicious. The original recipe requires 500 g of apples for a 24 cm tin. Even though I only used four apples, I made the whole amount of filling, and I only had very little left over.

A note on the cream: here in Germany we only have one kind of cream, which has 38 % fat. I know that in the UK you have cream and whipping cream, and in the US there’s cream and heavy cream, so if you wanted to make this, you’d need to figure out what type of cream to use.

I love how the cake shell turned out – more like a soft shortbread than a firm hard-baked shell. The Amaretto and the cream complement each other, and the apples bring a fresh note to it. This is such a delicious cake, so easy to make, and it’s easy to impress your guests with.

amaretto-cream-apple-cake-04

Amaretto & Cream Apple Cake

Dough
50 g cornstarch
100 g flour
1 egg (medium)
50 g sugar
75 g butter, slightly softened

Filling
500 g apples for a 24 cm tin / 4 apples for 3 small tins
200 ml cream
1 egg (medium)
2 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp Amaretto
1 tbsp cornstarch

Decoration
2 tbsp slivered almonds
1 tbsp icing sugar

For the dough, mix cornstarch and flour, add egg, sugar and slightly softened butter, then mix well, either by hand or machine. Form a ball, wrap in clingfilm and refrigerate.

For the filling, whisk egg, sugar, Amaretto and cornstarch into the cream. Set aside.

Peel apples, cut into quarters, remove core, and slice thinly.

Preheat oven to 200°C / 400°F (non-fan).

Butter cake tin(s) well, then line with the dough, including rims, and prick bottom(s) with a fork. Arrange apple slices in circles, whisk the cream mixture again, then pour over the apple slices, almost up to the rim. Sprinkle almond slivers on top.

Bake on middle shelf for 30 – 50 minutes (30 for smaller tins, 50 for a 24 cm tin).

Leave to cool, then dust with icing sugar before serving.

amaretto-cream-apple-cake-05