Baked Feta On Peppers & Thyme

Baked Feta 03

I have another recycled post from my German blog for you today. Reason? One, I haven’t been cooking much lately at the weekends – even though my “want to try” list is very long – and two, because this is the perfect summer lunch or dinner if you feel too lazy for elaborate cooking but still want to eat something delicious, or if you need to use up ingredients. The latter is how this dish came to be in the first place.

I remember looking in the fridge and finding a yellow and red pepper, feta cheese, a small piece of chorizo, and a lime. I also had a huge pot of thyme growing on my balcony. Here’s what I did:

Baked Feta 02

In a bowl, mix ½ a red and ½ a yellow diced pepper with zest and juice of 1 lime, 1 finely cut small red chili, and some finely sliced chorizo. Divide ½ of this between 2 small pie dishes. Halve the feta cheese and place on top of each portion. Cover with the remaining pepper mix. Push a few sprigs of thyme among the mix and place a few on top.

Cover the pie dishes with aluminium foil and bake for 20 minutes on middle shelf at 200°C / 400°F. After 20 minutes, remove aluminium foil and bake for another 10 minutes. Serve with fresh bread.

Naturally you can leave out the chorizo to make this vegetarian, and skip the chili if you don’t like it hot. You’ll still have a great dish with minimal effort.

Baked Feta 01