Passion Fruit Panna Cotta

Passion Fruit Panna Cotta 01

I think you all know by now how much I love panna cotta. Some of you might also know that I’ve been running a German food blog in parallel to this one for a long time, but I decided earlier this year to put all my efforts into this English language blog and put the German blog on radio silence for now.

Today I’ll recycle a panna cotta recipe from my German blog because I really, really loved this one. This passion fruit panna cotta makes the top 3 of my all time favourite panna cottas that I’ve ever made. I just counted on both blogs how many I’ve made in 6 years of blogging and ended up with seventeen – that’s 17! I was quite surprised myself.

Passion fruit can be found at every market here right now, so what better reason to share this recipe with you. The slightly tart passion fruit together with the sweetened cream and the sweet & crunchy caramel on top is definitely a winner. I’m glad I used the seeds in this recipe, because when you get to the bottom of this dessert, the tart crunch of the seeds is a nice surprise. Your guests will be surprised, too, because the pulp and seeds aren’t visible if you place them in the middle of the bottom. If you absolutely hate the seeds, you can leave them out, of course.

The recipe below states that this makes 8 servings – I purposely only poured the cream about 1 – 1.5 cm / 0.5″ high into the dessert glasses because I made this for guests and knew we’d be having a lot of food for starters and the main course, and as panna cotta is quite rich I didn’t want to overdo the amount and have anyone pass on it because they were already full. You can make this 4 servings by pouring the cream twice as high.

Passion Fruit Panna Cotta 03

Passion Fruit Panna Cotta

  • Servings: 8
  • Time: 30mins + cooling time
  • Print

Panna Cotta
500 ml cream
50 g sugar
8 passion fruit
3 gelatine leaves (total of approx. 1 g)

Caramel
2 passion fruit
raw cane sugar

Soak gelatine leaves in cold water. Meanwhile cut 8 passion fruit in half and scrape out pulp and seeds, then place in a pot. Add the cream and stir in the sugar. Bring to boil, then leave to simmer for 10 minutes. Take off the heat, pour through a sieve into a small jug. Keep the pulp and pits and set aside.

Pour the cream back into the pot. Squeeze all water from the gelatine leaves and quickly stir into the still hot cream.

Divide the pulp and pits you set aside earlier between 8 dessert glasses and top up with the cream. Refrigerate immediately for at least 4 hours, or overnight.

Prepare the caramel approximately 1 – 2 hours before serving the panna cotta. [Note – if the caramel is left lying around for too long in higher temperatures, it’ll become soft and liquid again!]

Halve the remaining 2 passion fruit and scrape out pulp and seeds. On a sheet of baking paper, spread the passion fruit pulp and seeds in a small circle. Heat the sugar in a small non-stick frying pan – sugar should cover the bottom of the pan – and melt at medium heat. [If it starts to smell, the temperature is too high!]
As soon as the sugar has turned completely liquid, evenly pour it over the passion fruit pulp/seed circle and leave to harden.

Before serving, break up the caramel into 8 pieces and stick one each into the panna cotta.

Passion Fruit Panna Cotta 02