Mini Rhubarb Pancakes

WordPress reminded me this past Wednesday, 25 May that it was my blogging anniversary – 6 years of blogging, who would have thought!? Time flies when you’re having fun.

And while these days I enjoy the ideas and photography part way more than the actual cooking and post writing (although you wouldn’t guess that judging by the amount of words I use…) I still enjoy the whole blogging thing.

So thank you to all of you stopping by here, reading, commenting and encouraging – let’s hope we’ll make it to many more anniversaries together!

Rhubarb Pancakes 04

This past month at the Friday market I kept eyeing the rhubarb with its vibrant colour. I was always tempted but didn’t have any ideas what to make from it, so I walked on. Yesterday, though, I had this vision of mini pancakes that I wanted to pair with rhubarb.

What appealed to me was the sweet/sour combination of rhubarb roasted with sugar, and something refreshing like mint to top it off.

Rhubarb Pancakes 03

The final result was this: sugar roasted rhubarb added to the pancake batter, topped with crème légère to which I added freshly chopped mint, sugar roasted rhubarb and chopped roasted hazelnuts.

A very fruity affair and yet refreshing due to the mint. Definitely best eaten warm, so probably not too suitable for a party buffet but certainly as a starter for a dinner party.

And yes, I inhaled the whole platter after the pictures were done😀 .

Rhubarb Pancakes 01

Mini Rhubarb Pancakes

  • Servings: approx. 20 pcs
  • Time: 20 mins + 15 mins roasting time
  • Print

4 rhubarb stalks
2 tbsp raw cane sugar

Batter
2 eggs
150 g flour
140 ml milk
4 tbsp raw cane sugar
150 g roasted rhubarb
butter for frying

Topping
150 g crème légère
1 tbsp chopped mint
30 g chopped hazelnuts
roasted rhubarb

Peel rhubarb and dice. Place on a baking sheet, mix with 2 tbsp raw cane sugar, and bake on middle shelf at 200°C / 400°F (fan) for 15 minutes. Take out and leave to cool.

While the rhubarb cools down, finely chop the mint and mix with the crème légère. Roughly chop the hazelnuts and dry roast in a frying pan until you smell the hazelnut aroma. Take off heat.

Once the rhubarb has cooled, mix all the batter ingredients together – measuring out 150 g of the roasted rhubarb and leaving the rest for the topping.

Melt butter in a frying pan and bake 5 – 6 small pancakes at a time, take out and keep warm.

To assemble, top the pancakes with a dollop of the minty crème légère, some roasted rhubarb, and a sprinkle of roasted hazelnuts.

Serve warm.

Rhubarb Pancakes 05