Fruity Chicken Salad

Earlier this week I went to a different branch of my favourite supermarket chain and saw violet mangetout for the first time. I was intrigued, took a quick look and went on. Then I saw kumquats, and although I don’t find them anything special, I decided to go back and get the violet mangetout and use them in a fruity salad with the kumquats. Another run around the veg section to pick up ingredients, then back home to make the salad.

Fruity Chicken Salad 02

I really liked this salad, but it was certainly not because of the mangetout. They were a major disappointment. Pretty tasteless and very flat, even though I’d added some raw cane sugar to the pan. The kumquats, though, were a lovely fruity addition. I used iceberg as the basis – I know many people find it too bland, but I knew my flavour would come from the other ingredients – and added chicken, marinated in chilli & lime rub. As a last minute addition I fried some mushrooms as well.

So apart from the iceberg and the kumquats everything was pan-fried and warm, I love a mix of warm & cold ingredients in a salad.

Fruity Chicken Salad 03

As I wanted my dressing to be fruity, I mixed lime zest & juice, mild white balsamic and olive oil, and because my taste buds seem to get more and more intolerant towards acid, I added the juice of a passion fruit, which was a really good idea as it made the mix quite mild. Freshly chopped mint was the final addition to the dressing.

I didn’t use salt because the marinated chicken was well seasoned; as for pepper – I simply forgot to add it, otherwise I’d have used a good few turns of the pepper mill on the finished salad.

I would definitely make this again, except for using mangetout. I think I’d rather use seared snap peas as they have a nice crunch to them.

Fruity Chicken Salad 01