Brown Ale Pulled Pork Chilli

Oven Pulled Pork Chilli 01

Last year I made oven pulled pork for the second time. The first time I used The Pioneer Woman’s recipe for Dr Pepper Pulled Pork. It was really good, but in the back of my mind I knew if I made this again I’d be using beer. When the urge to make pulled pork again hit, I happened to have a piece of pork butt in the freezer and a few bottles of Newcastle Brown Ale in my drinks rack. I thought brown ale would be perfect, and it was.

So this weekend I decided to make some more brown ale pulled pork and then turn it into a chilli. Don’t you love food you can just put in the oven and let it do its thing while you can do whatever takes your fancy? While barbequed pulled pork will take up to 14 hours with lots of looking after required, this oven version will only take 6 hours and only needs to be turned twice at 2.5 hour intervals.

Oven Pulled Pork Chilli 02

Although BBQ pulled pork to me is something out of this world and tastes different than oven pulled pork, the latter tastes just as good, and for me not much can top meat that falls apart at the touch of a fork. This past Sunday, I put the pulled pork in the oven at 10:00 am and whiled away the next 6 hours with a thriller and lots of coffee. And, oh, was it worth the wait!

The oven pulled pork recipe was the same one I’d used last year, and for the chilli I basically just chucked together chopped tomatoes, beans, different chilli powders, a bit of Sriracha sauce, brown sugar and salt, and that was it. I love my chilli hot, so I served it with fresh red chillies on top.

Oven Pulled Pork Chilli 03

The prepping for the pulled pork is really quick, and I started on the chilli 30 minutes before the pork was done. So basically each can be prepped in 10 minutes and the rest is done by the oven.
Last year I made wraps from the pulled pork, this time I found some tortilla “bowls” that you pop in the oven for a few minutes and serve the chilli in.

I’m always thinking about what other variations on this I could make. I saw an Asian pulled pork recipe the other day, and I’m going to try that next. Do you have a special oven pulled pork recipe?

Oven Pulled Pork Chilli 04

Oven Pulled Pork Chilli

  • Servings: 4 - 6
  • Time: prepping 10 mins pork + 10 mins chilli / cooking 6 hours
  • Print

Pulled Pork
1 kg pork butt (shoulder), deboned
2 medium sized onions
2 tbsp brown sugar
salt
pepper
BBQ Sauce of your choice [I used HP Honey BBQ Sauce with Woodsmoke Flavour]
0,5 l (Newcastle) Brown Ale

Chilli
1 x 400 g can chopped tomatoes
1 x 400 g can black beans
1 x 400 g can chilli beans
chilli powder [e.g. New Mexico chilli, Ancho chilli, Chipotle chilli]
Sriracha sauce, optional
brown sugar
salt

To serve
freshly chopped coriander
sour cream
fresh red chillies, optional

Heat oven to 150°C / 300°F (non-fan).

Generously rub the pork butt with salt and pepper all around, then rub in the BBQ sauce.

Peel and halve the onions, cut into 3 mm thick slices and place in a cast iron pot together with the sugar, then place the meat on top. Pour over the beer. [The meat will not be covered in the beer. If you prefer it completely covered, add more beer.]

Put in oven on middle shelf and let braise for 6 hours. The pork needs to be turned twice at 2.5 hour intervals.

30 minutes before the pork is done, place tomatoes and beans in a pot, add 2 tsp brown sugar and 1 tsp salt, chilli powder of your choice, and a splash of Sriracha sauce if using. Slowly bring to boil, then turn down heat and let simmer until the pork is done.

Pull the pork apart – in the pot – with two forks and add some of it to the chilli. [I did not add all the pork as I wanted to keep some of it for another meal.] Mix well and serve topped with coriander, fresh red chillies and sour cream.

Note: If reheating this, it might require more chopped tomatoes/liquid.

Oven Pulled Pork Chilli 05