Pork Fillets In Creamy Mushroom Sauce With Minty Potatoes

My diet these first months of the year has been a more balanced one than at the end of last year, a good mix of salads and “proper” food. I always eat lots of vegetables anyway, and I don’t cook or buy junk food. About once every four months I go out for a burger or döner kebap, because I don’t cook much meat at home. There’s no particular reason for that, except that I’m just not good with making sauces, so when I do cook meat it’s mostly beef, either in the form of a steak or beef strips in a stirfry.

I’m still in a bit of a funk with regards to cooking after work; this started late last year and hasn’t let up yet. I’m either not in the mood to cook, or I don’t fancy this, don’t fancy that… So I’ve gotten into the habit of asking friends at work during our coffee breaks what they’re cooking that night. That’s when I struck gold and came by this recipe.

Pork Fillet + Minty Potatoes 01

OK, so it does contain a lot of cream, but this sauce is so worth it. When my friend told me what else he adds, I looked at him to find out whether he was having me on. He wasn’t. His secret is that after sautéeing the onions and browning the meat he adds mustard and ketchup. With eyebrows drawn up I listened on, and decided to try it. I’m so glad I did. Instead of plain tomato ketchup I added the last bit of balsamic tomato ketchup I found in my cupboard, a limited item no longer available but I’m sure it gave this sauce an extra kick. In fact, as I know I’m going to make this again, I’m intent on adding a spritz of balsamic vinegar to the plain ketchup I’ll have to use.

Pork Fillet + Minty Potatoes 04

This is such a great dish – I love creamy sauces, and this one’s so easy to make. The mushrooms add a little extra texture, and the minty potatoes went very well with it all. My friend actually serves this with Spätzle, which I’ll do next time as they’d go well with this sauce.

I’d have no qualms making this for guests, either. I liked it the way I served it up in those individual cocottes, but I can equally imagine it on a serving platter where everyone can help themselves.

You can prep this well ahead by peeling the potatoes, cutting the mushrooms and chopping the onions and mint.

Pork Fillet + Minty Potatoes 03

Pork Fillets In Creamy Mushroom Sauce With Minty Potatoes

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: 40 mins
  • Print

1 pork fillet
salt
pepper
2 shallots
medium-strength mustard
(balsamic) tomato ketchup
15-20 button mushrooms
cream
small potatoes
bunch of fresh mint
olive oil
salt

Start by peeling the potatoes, chopping the mint and onions (separately), and slicing the mushrooms.

Place potatoes on a baking tray. Mix mint with olive oil and pour over the potatoes, followed by a little salt. Mix everything with your hands so all potatoes are covered in the oil-mint-mix. Place on middle shelf of oven and roast for 20 minutes at 200°C / 400°F, then turn them and roast for another 10 minutes.

While the potatoes are in the oven, slice meat and season a little with salt and pepper. In a non-stick frying pan, heat some olive oil and sautée the onions, then add the meat and brown a little. Once both onions and pork fillets are slightly browned, add a good dollop of both mustard and ketchup. [I used a tad more ketchup than mustard, just enough of both so that the bottom of the pan is almost covered.]

Stir well until all the meat is covered in the mustard-ketchup-mix, leave for a couple of minutes, then add the mushrooms. Stir again until everything’s well mixed, then add enough cream for the whole contents of the pan to be covered. Season with salt and pepper, then bring to boil for a bit, next turn down heat and cover with a lid. Check occiasionally, and if the cream’s cooked down too much, add a bit more.

Shortly before the potatoes are done, remove lid from pan and let simmer. [If the sauce is too thin, turn up heat to a boil until desired consistency is reached.]

Arrange everthing in individual cocottes, or serve on a platter.

Pork Fillet + Minty Potatoes 02