Baked Apple Cordial Macarons

I had this great idea to make macarons with a touch of winter / Christmas. I still think it’s a great idea but it didn’t go exactly like planned, for several reasons.

First, I thought I should try a different recipe, one where the accompanying pictures showed flawlessly smooth macarons surfaces but where the macarons where a little flatter than with my previously used recipe. Failure. They turned out way too flat for my taste, and the cocoa powder I had added was too much.

Baked Apple Macarons 01

Next I used my other recipe, the consistency of the batter was as usual but still the macarons turned out like unshapely buttons. One of the reasons for this was that I’d misplaced my large round piping nozzle and used a different one; I’d forgotten that I’d just bought a new round nozzle and could have used that.

However, while my eyes are not perfectly content with how these macarons turned out, my taste buds certainly are! I just love this baked apple cordial buttercream, and I’ll definitely make it again to serve with coffee for guests.

Baked Apple Macarons 02

I baked a chopped apple in the oven for this filling and then mixed it with the baked apple cordial I made last year. Of course I’m aware no one will likely have baked apple cordial at home, but you can use any liqueur/cordial that feels Christmas-y (like mulled wine – Ha! I’ve just given myself an idea for the next batch!) and combine it with a seasonal fruit.

So, despite the little things I’m not content with, these macarons turned out great. Below is the recipe I used for the unshapely ones from my little German booklet.

Baked Apple Macarons 04

Baked Apple Cordial Macarons

Macaron Shells
50 g finely ground skinned almonds (or almond flour)
75 g finely ground icing sugar
1 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder
pinch baking powder1 egg white (large)
pinch salt
20 g sugar

Buttercream
100 g soft butter
1 red apple
50 ml baked apple cordial (or liquid of choice)

For the macarons, beat the egg white together with the salt until very stiff. Keep on beating while pouring in the sugar.

Mix almond flour, icinig sugar, cocoa powder and baking powder, and add to the egg white. Incorporate the dry ingredients with a wooden spoon or spatula until well mixed and smooth but don’t overmix.

Place a non-stick baking mat on a baking tray. Using a piping bag with a large round nozzle, pipe the macarons mixture onto the baking mat making 26 circles.

Let sit for 20 minutes, then preheat oven to 150°C / 300°F (130°C / 275°F in fan oven). After a further 10 minutes, bake on middle shelf for 12 – 15 minutes. Let cool on the baking tray.

For the buttercream, peel and core the apple and finely dice. Place on a small baking tray and bake on middle shelf for 15 minutes at 200°C / 400°F. Remove and let cool for 15 minutes.

Purée the apple as finely as you can [my buttercream still had tiny specks of apple, which I liked], then mix with the apple cordial. With a handheld blender, start mixing the butter and bit by bit [do not add all at once!] add the apple & cordial mix. Once it has come together, use a spatula to make sure it’s evenly mixed.

Using a piping bag with a star nozzle, pipe the buttercream onto half of the macarons shells and top with the other halves. Refrigerate until buttercream is firm.

Baked Apple Macarons 03