“Fitness” Cookies

I deliberately put fitness in quotes, because I’m definitely not claiming that these cookies will make you fit. Overindulgence might make you want to run to the nearest fitness center, though πŸ™‚ . This recipe is from a friend’s mother, I received a picture of a handwritten copy, so unfortunately I don’t know the source of it.

The version I made is also modified quite a bit. The original asked for several ground spices like coriander, aniseed, fennel and cardamom; although I like the original version very much, I knew I would either leave these out or replace them with something else. In the end I decided to go with cardamom only.

The original also asked for dried apricots, figs and raisins to be soaked in rum overnight. I went for apricots and cranberries; I never have rum at home, and my cupboard search came up with an unopened bottle of chai liqueur I had been gifted last Christmas. This also played a role in my decision to use cardamom only as a spice.

The last ingredient I substituted was margarine for butter. I never have margarine in the fridge – maybe the margarine was the ingredient that would have made these fitness cookies. Although the addition of alcohol would make that redundant, I guess…

Fitness Cookies 01

So what’s the verdict? Although I really like the original version of these cookies – otherwise I wouldn’t have asked for the recipe – I like my take on them even better. You can’t tell that the fruits have been soaked in alcohol but I’m sure it contributes to the taste; you can also taste the lemon and zest as well as the cardamom.

There’s honey in these cookies, but I think it’s more for holding the other ingredients together; the cookies have a bit of sweetness (the dried cranberries were sugared) but you don’t feel like you’re biting into a sugar cookie.

The original version is a bit on the hard side, when my cookies came out of the oven they were quite soft inside, very pleasant. I assume they’ll get a little harder after a few days, but then again they might not last that long πŸ˜€ .

These cookies taste fabulous warm from the oven, so don’t wait until they’re completely cooled down – just don’t eat them all, otherwise… fitness center…

Fitness Cookies 02

Fitness Cookies

  • Servings: ca. 44
  • Time: prep 15 minutes + overnight soaking / baking 2 x 18 mins
  • Print

Note: Seeing as they contain alcohol, you might not want to feed these cookies to children!

75 g unsweetened dried apricots
75 g sweetened dried cranberries
chai liqueur
125 g unsalted butter, softened
2 eggs
3 tbsp honey
225 g fine oatmeal
2 tbsp flour
4 g vanilla sugar
1 tsp ground cardamom (ground whole, i.e. incl. shells)
zest of 1 lemon
juice of Β½ lemon

Chop the dried fruits and soak in chai liqueur, covered, overnight.

In a large bowl, mix together softened butter, eggs and honey. [This will look curdled but is how it should be.]

Add all other ingredients and stir well [I used an electric whisk.]

Preheat oven to 175Β°C / 350Β°F.

Using a teaspoon, set little heaps on a baking sheet covered with baking paper. Slightly flatten the heaps but not completely.

Bake on middle shelf for 15 – 20 minutes. [With the amount of cookies this made, I baked 2 sheets, both took 18 minutes.]

Fitness Cookies 03

