Apple, Marzipan & Walnut Pies

Apple Marzipan Walnut Pies 02

Two little pies is what I have for you today, quickly cobbled together because I received a bag of apples from a friend with the comment that they were better for baking than eating.

This autumn hasn’t turned out like I expected – the trees carry golden and red foliage but what I’m missing is the blue sky and sun to go with it. Unfortunately what we’ve gotten so far is a greyish white sky, which is  one of the reasons why I hang out on the sofa on a Sunday afternoon craving something sweet and autumn-y with my coffee.

Apple Marzipan Walnut Pies 03

Wherever you look these days, be it stalls at fairs or blogs, autumn-y baked goods are being made with cinnamon; so when I decided to bake something from the apples I was given, I knew I would be using cardamom instead of cinnamon, which to me also spells autumn and – carefully measured – isn’t quite as dominant.

Apples, cardamom, walnuts and marzipan – all wrapped up in puff pastry. The result is a perfect way to indulge on a Sunday afternoon that lacks blue skies and sun; the apples aren’t sweetened too much because the marzipan is already very sweet, you can taste the cardamom but it’s not overpowering, and all this served warm… *sigh*

This is definitely something I’ll be making again, maybe with juicy red plums as they also go really well with cardamom.

By the way, one of these pies actually feeds two – so go and share!

Apple Marzipan Walnut Pies 04

Apple, Marzipan & Walnut Pies

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: prep 15 mins / baking 20 mins
  • Print

1 roll puff pastry
2 pie dishes (18 x 13.5 cm / 7 x 5 1/4″)
butter for greasing

1.5 – 2 cooking apples, cored, peeled and grated into sticks
50 g marzipan, chopped
1 handful walnuts, chopped
1 pinch (1 ml) cardamom powder
2 – 3 tbsp raw cane sugar

1 egg, whisked
handful of coarse sugar for decorating

Grease pie dishes with butter. Unroll puff pastry, cut in half width-ways and line the pie dishes.

Mix all ingredients (except egg and coarse sugar) together in a bowl. Divide among the pie dishes, fold in overlapping pastry and twist closed on top. Brush with whisked egg and sprinkle with coarse sugar.

Bake on middle shelf at 180°C / 350°F for 20 – 25 minutes until tops are golden brown. Serve warm, with whipped cream if you want to indulge.

Apple Marzipan Walnut Pies 01