Meat Stuffed Green Mini Peppers On Sugar & Thyme Roasted Tomatoes

Meat Stuffed Green Mini Peppers 01

I saw these Turkish mini peppers at the greengrocer’s this week and bought them without really knowing what I wanted to make with them. After making vegetarian stuffed mini peppers last year, I then decided I would use minced beef this time.

Apart from that, I had a few things that needed to be used up, like black olives and the Toma cheese I used in last week’s pasta, as well as some Scamorza cheese.

Meat Stuffed Green Mini Peppers 04

I had quite a lot of cocktail tomatoes sitting in the kitchen and that made me think of serving the peppers on a bed of sugar & thyme roasted tomatoes.

I chopped olives, onions, garlic and thyme together, grated the cheeses, and mixed everything into the minced beef. Originally I wanted to add some fresh rosemary but seeing as I was using thyme with the tomatoes, I decided to stick with one kind of herb.

This whole dish turned out to be an excellent idea, and I will definitely have this again over the summer. The only thing I’d do differently is roast more tomatoes! They were so incredibly delicious that I’ll roast some more soon to use in pasta. I think this would also make a great starter for a dinner party.

Meat Stuffed Green Mini Peppers 03

Meat Stuffed Green Mini Peppers On Sugar & Thyme Roasted Tomatoes

500 g red and yellow cocktail tomatoes
handful of fresh thyme
4 tsp raw cane sugar
olive oil

Halve the cocktail tomatoes and place them cut side up on a baking tray. Drizzle with a little olive oil [not so much that the tomatoes will “swim” in it, though!] Evenly pour the sugar over the tomatoes, then distribute the thyme stalks among them.

Roast in the oven on middle shelf at 200°C / 400°F for 20 minutes.

Meat Stuffed Green Mini Peppers 05

4 green mini peppers
250 g minced beef
1 garlic clove
1 small white onion
handful of pitted black olives
handful of fresh thyme
30 g Toma cheese, grated
50 g Scamorza cheese, grated
salt
olive oil

Cut top off the peppers and remove any ribs and seeds.

In a food processor, chop onion, garlic, olives and thyme together. Mix chopped ingredients as well as the grated cheeses with the minced beef and add a little salt. [Bear in mind that the olive and cheeses are also salty!]

Pour a few drops of olive oil into your hand and rub the peppers and tops with it.

Divide beef mix into 4 portions and stuff the peppers with them. Top peppers with the tops you cut off earlier.

Bake in the oven on middle shelf at 200°C / 400°F for 15 – 20 minutes.

Take out of the oven, put the tomatoes back in and bake them for a further 5 minutes.

Arrange tomatoes on a serving platter and place the stuffed peppers on top. Serve immediately with fresh bread to dip in the tomato juices.

Meat Stuffed Green Mini Peppers 02

