Welcome To My Dinner Table – Part 15

Two weekends ago I finally had friends over for my birthday dinner. My birthday was in April, but with some of us travelling we couldn’t get together any earlier. I had planned a fabulous rhubarb based menu which unfortunately didn’t come to fruition. Luckily I checked with my guests and it turned out rhubarb gives some of them heartburn. So havingย  a whole menu based on the stuff would have been overkill for them.

The dilemma was that although there are so many things I want to try cooking, suddenly I couldn’t come up with a single thing. I started researching the web two days before the dinner, and I found something I was content with. Especially as I found the starter on my own blog ๐Ÿ˜€ .

The Table

As you can see, my dinner table was laid very sparsely, just the basics, really. I’d forgotten to buy flowers at the market the day before, and I didn’t have time on the day of the dinner to get any. What I had bought was a huge bunch of mint, so I decided to put some of that into vases, or rather the little blue water bottles I snagged borrowed after a meeting and took home. I completely forgot about guest favours as well…

Dinner Tables Pt15 01

The Menu

New Blossom [Jamie Oliver]
Citrusy Salad
Pork Chops with Balsamic Figs
[Sweet Paul]
Cheesy Garlic Potatoes [a really old recipe from either Prima or Delicious Magazine]
Trio of Vin Santo Panna Cotta, Watermelon Ice Cream & Rhubarb Ice Cream

I found the aperitif – which by the way turned out to be quite sensational and had both my guests and myself raving – on Jamie Oliver’s website, and the main course on Sweet Paul’s.

Dinner Tables Pt15 02a

The dessert was my own creation, a trio of two ice creams and panna cotta. Originally I had planned to serve tiny little Vin Santo Guglhupfs to go with the panna cotta and made them on the morning of the dinner. And what do you know – on turning them out of the silicon moulds, they crumbled to pieces. All of them. So I decided to serve the two ice creams I’d made earlier this month instead. We also had some Vin Santo with the dessert.

Dinner Tables Pt15 04

The food turned out really well, the guests were great as usual, and although some of my friends couldn’t attend due to illness or travelling, we had a beautiful evening.

The weather that day was nice and warm, so we opened up the balcony doors and spent time outside as well.

Sadly, I didn’t take many pictures – apologies for that, it’s so not like me and I don’t know how that happened.

Dinner Tables Pt15 03b
Last but not least – tadaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa! My birthday present. You know what I’ll be making soon, and I already promised my guests that the next dinner would be (another) Italian one!

Dinner Tables Pt15 05

