Rhubarb, Strawberry & Ginger Crumble

Rhubarb Strawberry Ginger Crumble 03

Although I like rhubarb, I don’t make anything from it very often. This last week, however, I had a vision of ruby red rhubarb, preferably cooked in the oven, so I made a list of things I could make, then ended up with crumble.

I know that a crumble is not haute cuisine, but… I think you can never go wrong with a crumble. There’s one for every season, and it’s also a little bit of comfort food, at least to me.

To counter the acidity of the rhubarb, I decided to add strawberries. The German ones I got at the market yesterday were surprisingly sweet and a great partner for the rhubarb.

Rhubarb Strawberry Ginger Crumble 01

Still, I wanted a little something extra, and I’d found that the other week at my favourite supermarket – ginger. Not the root, though, but fresh ginger stalks. I had never seen them before and decided to give them a try. If you haven’t seen fresh ginger stalks either, they’re the stalks seen in the pics.

I added a handful of a chopped hazelnut/cashews mix to the crumble mixture because I had that left over.

During my England trip earlier this month, I bought four little pie dishes on sale (18 x 13.5 cm / 7 x 5 1/4″), and they were the perfect size to try out my crumble recipe.

How did my little crumbles turn out? Very, very nice! You can taste the ginger but it’s not dominant (you really have to chop it very finely, though, to achieve that), the rhubarb has a mild tartness to it, and the strawberries fit in nicely as well. It hit the spot, and I’d make this again any time.

Rhubarb Strawberry Ginger Crumble 02

Rhubarb, Strawberry & Ginger Crumble

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: 45mins
  • Print

4 rhubarb stalks, peeled and diced
2 tbsp demerara sugar
6 large strawberries, hulled and diced
Β½Β stalk fresh ginger, peeled and finely diced
90 g flour
90 g demerara sugar
60 g butter, room temperature
handful chopped (hazel)nuts
extra butter for topping

Finely dice the rhubarb and the ginger, then heat together with 2 tbsp demerara sugar. Let simmer for 5 minutes, then take off the heat. Add the strawberries and stir well. Set aside.

Mix together flour and sugar, then add butter in flakes and rub the mixture together with your fingers until you get crumbles.

Divide fruit mixture between two small pie dishes, then top with the crumble mixture.

Bake at 180Β°C for 10 minutes, then top with butter flakes and bake for another 20 minutes.

Take out of the oven and let cool for a few minutes as the crumble will be very hot.

Rhubarb Strawberry Ginger Crumble 04

