Catching Up

Just when you think life is peachy, everything’s going well enough and you’re planning your next vacation, then – wham! Life throws you a curveball. One day almost two weeks ago out of nowhere I seemed to have developed a cough, and the next thing I knew I spent the following eleven days sleeping almost all day every day.

It wasn’t just a cold this time, but I’d caught the flu. I don’t think I’ve ever had that before, I’m sure I would remember. Now that I’m back on my feet again, it seems almost unreal. Sleeping for eleven days!? No energy at all, really, but I still had to drag myself to the doctor’s three times during those days. The last time she said I still didn’t look any better, and was I eating?

Ahem. Eating? Guess you could call it that. It’s a rare day that I am not interested in food, believe me. Whenever I have a plain cold it’s safe to say that on day two you’ll find me digging through all the food supplies in the house and eating everything that I come across. I’ve always wondered how people can have no appetite when they’re sick because it’s just the exact opposite with me. This time, however, food was the furthest thing from my mind.

Flu Food

After the first doctor’s visit I went to the supermarket next to them and stocked up on bread and apples. And that’s what I had once a day every day for eleven days. Two slices of buttered bread, an apple, and some rose hip tea. I didn’t even want to eat that, it was really too much trouble to even get up and butter some bread.

I’m finally getting back to the land of the living, including food – I’m afraid it’s still just bread and apples at the moment but I’m sure that’ll change quickly.

For now I’ll be catching up with your comments and all the posts in my reader, and hopefully you’ll be reading about proper food again here soon. Stay tuned for something more culinarily adventurous than bread and apples!

Kiki

