Homemade Butter

Homemade Butter 01

If you’re thinking homemade herb butter here, yes, you can make that from what you see in the pictures, but really I’m talking about making your own butter.

The other day I read an article about a German family who don’t use any products at all that are packaged. This ranges from food items to household items to toiletries and cleaning supplies.

They make their own cleaning agents, their own sweets, and their own butter. As much as I admire the whole concept, especially as a lot of items we buy are unnecessarily packaged, the butter thing caught my attention most.

The article said it only takes 7 minutes to make butter from cream. I’m sure that’s something a lot of you already know and probably make at home, but to me this sounded fantastic. I’m more likely to have cream in the fridge than butter, so I thought this recipe might come in handy. Today I actually tried it, and as you can see it worked.

Homemade Butter 02

What you do is you take any amount of cream and whip it up [I used a hand mixer] for 7 minutes. You’ll soon be able to see a change in consistency as it starts to resemble butter. After almost 7 minutes it will change again, looking like it’s curdled. This will change again to a firm buttery consistency.

After 7 minutes you’ll notice liquid in your mixing bowl, so once the 7 minutes are up, use a spatula to press on the butter, then pour off the liquid that comes out of it. You need to press quite firmly until all the liquid has come out, then when you’ve poured it off, mix again for another 2 – 3 minutes.

At that final stage you can leave your butter plain or mix anything into it that you fancy, like salt, herbs, or crushed garlic.

I actually added a small amount of salt after the first minute of mixing, and at the final stage I mixed herbs and garlic into half of the butter.

This was a real fun experience, and I know it’ll come in handy when I forget to buy butter again.

Note: We only have one kind of cream here in Germany, and it has only 32 % fat, so I don’t know how this will work with higher percent cream. My guess is, though, that it’ll work fine. If you have any experience with this, let me know!

Homemade Butter 03

