Mini Mince Gugelhupf

I’ve said here a few times before that I’d love to be able to make do with only one picture per post. Well, now I get to have my wish, but not because I wanted to…

This little experiment turned out very well taste-wise but visually I have to say it’s one the ugliest dishes coming out of my kitchen in a long time.

I’ve been thinking about party food for a couple of weeks now, and I don’t know why because I’m not planning on hosting a party anytime soon. Nevertheless, mini and bite-sized dishes keep popping into my head that would be nice on a party buffet.

One of those ideas was a kind of party buffet mini meat loaf, and then I saw a post on raw meat somewhere that somehow triggered mince meat gugelhupf. So here we go.

Not sure, though, that I would put the not so pretty outcome on a buffet, but I made the leftover half of the mince meat into grilled meat balls, using the same ingredients, so that might be an alternative.

Mince Gugelhupf

Mini Mince Gugelhupf

  • Servings: ca. 6 (fingerfood sized)
  • Print

ca. 200 g mince meat (mix of pork & beef)
coarse salt
coarse pepper
1 tsp dried oregano
2 small garlic cloves, crushed
6 sun-dried tomatoes in oil, drained + finely chopped
6 mini mozzarella balls, chopped
mini gugelhupf mould

Place all ingredients in a bowl and mix until well combined. Press into gugelhupf mould, then bake in the oven on middle shelf at 200Β°C / 400Β°F for 20 minutes.

Take out of the oven, then carefully pour off any liquid that has accumulated in the mould during cooking.

Place on a grid bottom side down, put the grid on top of a baking sheet, then bake for a further 10 minutes.

