Savoury Muffins

Savoury Muffins 01

This is not meant as a regular recipe post but more of a look what I made post. I’ve been meaning to make savoury muffins for some time but never got round to it until this weekend. They turned out quite well but I think they can be improved, and that’s where maybe you can help me.

As basic ingredients I used 200 ml milk, 2 eggs, 280 g flour, 2 tsp baking powder and 2 tsp salt. I had jotted those measurements down from one of my cookbooks and added 50 g shredded spinach leaves, a mix of scamorza and Italian country cheese, bacon bits and 14 cocktail tomatoes.

Savoury Muffins 02

Although, as I said, the result tasted very good, something was missing to me but I can’t determine what. Maybe more salt? I hadn’t added too much because I thought both the cheese and the bacon bits would be slightly salty. Or maybe some fresh or dried herbs? Oregano seemed too dominant and I didn’t have fresh thyme. Maybe a rasp or two of nutmeg would have been interesting.

For some reason I thought that the cocktail tomatoes would sink into the dough and to the bottom during the baking process, but that didn’t happen even though I pushed them in. So although they look quite nice sticking to the top, I’d use more next time and mix them into the dough.

Savoury Muffins 04

The consistency, I guess due to the cheese, was very dense. I don’t know if that could be lightened a little. Also, the cheese wasn’t gooey inside, so maybe fresh mozzarella would be an alternative.

If you have any suggestions for improvement, let me know! I’ll add them to my list and give these muffins another try.

 Savoury Muffins 03

