Vegetable Soup with Cracked Wheat

Veg Soup + Cracked Wheat 01

The other day I cleaned out my canned and bottled goods kitchen drawer and discarded half of it. I really don’t know why sometimes I don’t open things and decide to keep them for “a better occasion”. It’s nuts and this way I throw away quite a bit of stuff. Because clearing out that drawer showed food items with an expiry date of one to two years ago. How did that happen? I thought I was checking that drawer regularly.

What survived were a lot of cans of tomatoes and beans, white beans being one of them. So I decided to make a seasonal soup, went to the market and bought the rest of the ingredients: Jerusalem artichoke – which I’d never had before, parsnip, carrots and potatoes. I was thinking of adding chorizo but decided to go for a veggies only version. You really can jazz up this soup with different kinds of sausages like chorizo, salsiccia or merguez, though.

Veg Soup + Cracked Wheat 02

The prepping’s done really quickly with this recipe, and while you go and spend some time on yourself, this soup will simmer on the stove without needing much of your assistance.

I really liked how this turned out, although for some reason I thought it would be a bit thicker, especially with all the starchy vegetables in it. It was still perfect for me, especially with the cheese and sour cream, and I didn’t even need bread to go with it.

Definitely something I’ll make more often, maybe experimenting with other vegetables.

Veg Soup + Cracked Wheat 04

Vegetable Soup with Cracked Wheat

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 1 hr
  • Print

1 large onion
2 garlic cloves
1 tsp dried marjoram
1 tsp paprika powder
butter or olive oil
4 medium potatoes
1 large carrot
1 Jerusalem artichoke
1 parsnip
1 can of white beans, liquid discarded
80 g (ready to cook) cracked wheat

to serve:
grated cheese [I used Gruyère]
sour cream or crème légère

Peel and finely chop the onion and garlic cloves.  Peel root vegetables and cut into cubes.

Heat butter or oil in a large pan, add onion and garlic and sauté until slightly browned. Add paprika – and more butter if necessary – and stir well to avoid lumps. Next add the root vegetables and marjoram, then top with about 1 liter of water. [If you want to go for a thicker consistency, start out with less water, just cover the vegetables, then keep adding as necessary.] Season to taste with salt [I used approx. 2 tsp].

Bring to a boil, then simmer on medium to low heat for about 30 minutes, check if vegetables are done, and if so, add the cracked wheat and white beans. Cook for about a further 10 minutes until the wheat is done.

Serve with grated cheese of your choice and sour cream or crème légère.

Veg Soup + Cracked Wheat 03

