Advocaat & Coconut Gugelhupf

Advocaat Coconut Guglhupf 03

This last Christmas season I only made one cookie variety, and surprisingly didn’t crave any of the seasonal sweets at all. When I went shopping after Christmas, though, and saw a mini Gugelhupf cake mould, the craving suddenly hit.

Until today that mould sat on my kitchen counter because I didn’t want to make a plain cake and couldn’t come up with anything else. Then last night I cleared out the food cupboards and found an unopened pack of American sweetened coconut flakes. A look in the fridge – advocaat. So that’s how this cake came about.

Advocaat Coconut Guglhupf 01

I’ve made a similar one using Baileys a couple of years ago, so I halved the ingredients and replaced the Baileys with advocaat and added coconut flakes.

Result: The inside of this little cake is not light and fluffy but just as I intended – deliciously moist yet not too heavy. The only thing I would change next time is the amount of sugar; I’d forgotten that the coconut flakes were already sweetened, so to my taste the cake could be a little less sweet. It’s still a great cake, though, which I’d make again.

I only ate one slice today but can see myself dunking more of it into my coffee tomorrow. If there’s anything left after taking it to work…

Advocaat Coconut Guglhupf 04

Advocaat & Coconut Gugelhupf

  • Servings: 14
  • Print

Ingredients for a 14 cm Ø mould

2 egg whites
100 g soft butter
100 g sugar
2 egg yolks
75 g plain flour
50 g almond flour
8 g baking powder
100 ml advocaat
40 g sweetened coconut flakes
extra butter for cake mould

Advocaat Coconut Guglhupf 02

Beat egg whites until stiff, then set aside.

In a separate bowl, mix together butter and sugar until slightly creamy, then add egg yolks. Beat until egg is incorporated, then add both flour types and baking powder. Mix again, then add advocaat and coconut flakes. Keep mixing until everything comes together smoothly.

Finally, mix in the stiff egg whites and mix well until egg white is completely incorporated.

Lightly butter the cake mould, pour in the batter, then bake on middle shelf at 175°C / 350°F for 30 – 40 minutes.  After 30 minutes, check consistency by sticking a wooden skewer into the cake. If it comes out clean and the cake surface has the right colour, remove from oven, let cool for about 10 minutes, then turn out onto a cooling rack and let cool completely.

NOTE: Thank you to Frugal Hausfrau for sending me a link to how to make Advocaat if it’s not available where you live! Here’s the link to the DIY recipe.

Advocaat Coconut Guglhupf 05

