Tomato & Kohlrabi Crumble

Tomato Kohlrabi Crumble 03

What a great feeling to be back in the kitchen after a week of battling a summer flu! I realised the other day that I only did one food post in July, and only one so far in August. I intend to pick up the slack over the next few weeks, though.

After my first dabble in the art of savoury crumbles I decided it was time to try again. My first savoury crumble lacked juices and I thought it could have done with maybe some kind of cheese sauce. With this one I wanted to get it right without requiring a sauce to save it.

The idea of trying this again came from my parents’ garden – I had a kohlrabi and two plum tomatoes left, and while I was clearing out my kitchen cupboards trying to let go of things I never use, my eye fell on some mini ramekins. One eye on the ramekins and the other on the leftover tomatoes (not literally, haha – that would have been a sight!), I could see the tomato slices fitting perfectly in there.

Tomato Kohlrabi Crumble 01

From there, it all miraculously came together without much hard thinking. I thought the tomatoes would give off some juice but with the kohlrabi being a dry vegetable, I’d pre-fry it in a little butter with some brown sugar.

The other day I had mixed an impromptu dressing from some leftover walnut mustard, balsamic vinegar and oil, and I just knew the walnut mustard would go well with this crumble. If you can get your hands on walnut mustard, do try it – it complements all the other flavours perfectly.

To the classic crumble topping I wanted to add some roasted, chopped hazelnuts and last minute decided to add some rosemary as well. I used only a tiny bit of rosemary, though, because as you know it can be quite dominant. You can detect a trace of it here – if you didn’t know it was in there, you’d probably think it might be. I decided not to season with salt and pepper, and that was a very good choice as it’s absolutely unnecessary.

Tomato Kohlrabi Crumble 02

Overall result? WOW! I’m really enthusiastic about this. You cut into the hazelnutty topping, get to the soft but in no way mushy tomato that gives off its juice mixed with the mustard/balsamic mixture, then you meet the still slightly crunchy kohlrabi with a touch of brown sugar discernible. *sigh* Do I need to say more? I can’t wait to make this as a starter for guests.

Tomato & Kohlrabi Crumble

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: prepping 10 mins cooking 20 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

2 plum tomatoes
Β½ kohlrabi
brown sugar
butter
flour
handful of hazelnuts
10 small rosemary needles
walnut mustard
balsamic vinegar

Tomato Kohlrabi Crumble 04

In a small frying pan dry-roast hazelnuts until aroma unfolds. Take off the heat and chop the hazelnuts together with the rosemary needles in a blender.

With your fingers, mix enough cold butter and flour to make crumble topping, then add in the hazelnut-rosemary mix and 1 tbsp brown sugar. Mix again until everything is well-distributed, then set aside.

Peel the kohlrabi, slice it 0.5 cm thick, then dice very finely. In a non-stick pan, heat 30 g butter and 2 tbsp brown sugar, then add the kohlrabi and fry until softened just a little bit and covered in the butter-sugar mix.

Mix together a small amount each (ratio 1:2) of mustard and vinegar and set aside. Slice the tomatoes.

Butter 4 small ramekins, then sprinkle with some of the crumble topping. Place 1 tomato slice on the bottom of each ramekin, then add some of the kohlrabi. Top with a little of the mustard-vinegar mix, then go on layering this way, ending with a tomato slice and topping it with crumble mixture.

Bake in the oven on the middle shelf for 20 minutes at 200Β°C / 400Β°F. Serve immediately.

Tomato Kohlrabi Crumble 05

