Tapas – Red Aubergines

Tapas - Red Aubergines 01

The second one of the three tapas dishes I made is vegetarian. Although the original recipe requires anchovies, I left them out as I don’t eat seafood.

Out of the three, this one takes the least effort to make. The aubergines will be in the oven, then later they need to marinate for an hour, and inbetween you blend a few ingredients. That’s it.

I will definitely make all three dishes again, but I’m sure this is the one I’ll be making most often. I almost always have aubergines at home, so this is a nice emergency solution for a “what am I going to cook” day.  As the finished dish keeps for 2 – 3 days in the fridge, you can either have the leftovers – if there are any… – cold or incorporated into meals; I can see these mixed into plain pasta for a quick meal.

Making this easy dish went without a hitch, although I would probably use a little less olive oil for marinating next time. Like the other two tapas dishes, this will be really popular on a buffet.

Tapas - Red Aubergines 02

Tapas - Red Aubergines

  • Servings: 4
  • Print

600 g aubgergines
180 ml olive oil
2 garlic cloves
1 tbsp white wine vinegar
4 sun-dried tomatoes in oil
2 tbsp tomato purée
1 tsp dried thyme
pinch cayenne
salt
pepper
honey

Heat oven to 200°C. Cut aubergines in 1 cm thick rounds. Brush each slice with olive oil on both sides, then lay the slices out on a baking tray covered with baking paper.

Reduce oven heat to 180°C and bake aubergines on the middle shelf for 30 minutes, until they’re slightly browned.

Meanwhile, peel garlic and purée together with the remaining olive oil, vinegar, dried tomatoes and tomato purée. Add thyme and cayenne, then season with salt, pepper and honey.

Marinate the aubergines in this mixture for 1 hour.

Tapas - Red Aubergines 03

