Tapas – Cider Chorizo

Tapas - Cider Chorizo 01

A friend of mine always does a very delicious buffet for her birthday. One of the things I always look forward to on the buffet is this cider chorizo. This year I finally got the recipe off my friend. It’s from a German tapas booklet, but unfortunately I only have copies of some of the recipe pages, and I only remember that it’s called Tapas but not the author.

In my eagerness to make three tapas dishes a few weekends ago, I realised on the Sunday that I forgot to buy cider. That’s really awful if – like me – you live in a country where shops are closed on Sunday. However, I had some cider vinegar at home, so I used 200 ml of that mixed with 100 ml water. It was the perfect mixture and tasted very good.

What I love about this tapas dish is the mix of hearty chorizo, tart apple that becomes mild with cooking, and the soft onions. Now that I finally made this, I will definitely make it often – it’s a great staple for a buffet as well as a nice starter for a dinner.

Tapas - Cider Chorizo 02

Cider Chorizo

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 30 mins
  • Print

1 onion
1 apple (preferably tart)
250 g Chorizo
1 tbsp olive oil
1 bay leaf
300 ml cider
black pepper

Peel onion, cut in half, then cut into thin slices. Peel apple, remove core, and cut into thin slices. Cut chorizo into diagnoal slices.

Heat a frying pan, add olive oil, then sauté the onions together with the bay leaf for 2 – 3 minutes. Add the chorizo and apple slices, then add the cider. Cover and simmer for 15 minutes.

Remove bay leaf, season with freshly ground black pepper and serve in cooking liquid.

This dish can be served warm or cold, together with some rustic bread.

Tapas - Cider Chorizo 03

