Mediterranean Herb Salt

A couple of years ago I received a jar of mediterranean herb salt as a hostess gift from a friend. I loved it but used it sparingly so it would last longer. It’s been down to about 2 teaspoons for at least 6 months, and I was pondering making some myself.

I never did, though, because all the recipes I found on the web said to dry the herbs in the oven, and lazy as I am I just couldn’t be bothered.

Last week I read something about how people have cookbooks sitting on their bookshelves but never really use them. The article suggested choosing one book and making several dishes from it, then proceeding in the same way with the other books. I grabbed a German book called Little Gifts From The Kitchen, and I chose this particular one because it had the most stickers in it.

Mediterranean Herb Salt 01

And what do you know – I’d bookmarked a page for different herbed salts. No oven required, just mixing salt and herbs. As I’d planned to go to the nursery and get some pots of herbs anyway, I got rosemary and oregano, and this morning I made the mediterranean herb salt – in about 10 minutes.

The task that takes longest in this quick recipe is plucking the oregano leaves from the stems. My oregano sprigs were pretty short, so I cut off a handful and adjusted the amount as I went, because I didn’t want the rosemary to be dominant.

As the book says, these little pots of herbed salt make a great gift. I’m going to keep my first batch, though. What I usually use it for is to season potatoes, either sprinkling it over potato wedges to bake in the oven, or to mix with a little oil, then cut very small potatoes in half, brush the cut side with the herb-oil mix and also bake in the oven cut side up. Looking forward to making this tonight!

Mediterranean Herb Salt 02

Mediterranean Herb Salt

  • Time: 10mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

1 sprig rosemary
2 sprigs oregano (or a handful if sprigs aren’t as long as the rosemary ones)
100 g coarse sea salt
1 tsp black peppercorns

Pluck the rosemary and oregano leaves from the stems, and finely chop them in a blender.

Add the peppercorns and salt, and chop until the peppercorns are crushed and the salt crystals are broken up.

Keep the herb salt in a clean jam jar.

Mediterranean Herb Salt 03

