Apple & Cardamom Waffles

I was browsing through my blog the other day and was surprised to see I had been using quite a bit of cardamom in my winter recipes last year. Surprised because I thought I had only developed this liking this year, but apparently not so.

As happens so often, I intend to try a certain recipe but then something else gets in the way. One of my many sticky notes around the kitchen said waffles with cardamom and apple. Strolling across a Christmas market with my mum a couple of weeks ago triggered that memory. It was raining and cold, but we decided to make one last stop at a waffle booth.

Apple + Cardamom Waffles 01

I don’t know how waffles are served in other countries, but here the most traditional topping is apple sauce (called apple purée here) and whipped cream. Instead of making apple purée I wanted to incorporate an apple into the batter. My first thought was to grate it but then I stole from my Baked Apple Cordial recipe and baked the apple with cardamom and cinnamon.

The rest of the recipe was adapted from the Bailey’s Waffles I once made for my German blog, exchanging milk for cream because my fridge was rather empty after a weekend away and lacked milk. I made a conservative amount of batter that makes 6 waffles, but this recipe can easily be doubled.

Result? Oooooh… just as I had imagined them! You can taste both the apple and the spices, but neither dominates. A perfect treat for an Advent Sunday.

Apple + Cardamom Waffles 02

Baked Apple & Cardamom Waffles

  • Servings: makes 6
  • Time: approx. 45 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

1 apple
2 ml ground cardamom
1 ml ground cinnamon

1 egg
1 tsp baking powder
150 g flour [I used very fine flour]
30 g icing sugar
60 g white sugar
50 g butter [either softened or slightly melted]
200 ml cream
1 ml ground cardamom
½ ml ground cinnamon

whipped cream (from can)
mix of cocoa powder and icing sugar to decorate

Apple + Cardamom Waffles 03

Heat oven to 160°C / 325°F set to fan.

Mix cardamom and cinnamon. Peel apple, core, then cut into 1 cm / ½ in pieces. Line a small baking tray with paper, lay out the apple pieces and bake for 5 minutes.

Evenly distribute the spice mix on top of the apples, then bake for another 10 minutes.

For the batter, combine all ingredients with an electric whisk. Purée the spiced apple pieces with an immersion blender, and mix into the batter.

Bake your waffles, then store them next to each other (so they won’t soften up) on a baking rack.

Serve slightly warm decorated with cream and the cocoa powder & icing sugar mix.

Apple + Cardamom Waffles 04

January 1st, 2014

THANK YOU to the lovely people at WordPress (who must be scouring gazillions of posts every day…) for Freshly Pressing this post last night!

A lovely surprise to end the old blogging year and start into the new one!

Kiki xxx

