English Breakfast Portobellos

Walking through the market earlier this week I saw Portobello mushrooms at a stall for the very first time. Not that you can’t get them here, but you won’t find them at the supermarket or even your average market stall. You’d have to go out of your way, which I always found annoying, and which is the reason I’ve never cooked with them before.

Breakfast Portobello 01

I bought two, but was somehow so astonished to have found any at all that I didn’t think about what to cook with them. As I’d only done some basic shopping for this weekend, I now had these Portobellos sitting there but not much else. Last night I was mentally going through all my food cupboards and the fridge to come up with something. Breakfast was the only thing that came to mind.

So this morning the only thing I needed to verify was that the unopened packet of bacon was still good, and from there it was improvisation all the way. Taking another look at the Portobellos I realised how huge they were and thankfully had the sense to cook only one.

Breakfast Portobello 02

After carefully removing the stalk from the Portobello, I set it on a papered baking sheet. Then I whisked 2 eggs with salt and pepper and poured it into the mushroom cap. Next I quartered 4 cocktail tomatoes and dropped them into the egg. I then sprinkled a mixture of panko breadcrumbs and some grated, strong Swiss cheese on top. Then I arranged the bacon in a starshape over the Portobello and cooked it for 25 minutes at 180°C/350°F. Served with some HP sauce and buttered toast, this was an extremely filling breakfast.

Breakfast Portobello 03

The nice thing about this was that everything could be cooked at the same time in a more efficient way than a real English breakfast. As you can see in the pictures, a lot of liquid came out of the mushroom when I cut into it, but the good thing was that it didn’t make it soggy. I guess you could cut into the mushroom to let some of the liquid out and pour it off. I didn’t mind that, though, as it still was a great breakfast.

Breakfast Portobello 04

