Pork Tenderloin, Pumpkin & Sweet Potato On Rosemary Skewers

It’s been a while since I felt like cooking. I don’t know why that is, and I guess not knowing the reason for it means I can’t do anything about it. For the past two weeks I’ve been living on sandwiches, fruit, and the occasional ready-made soup with no will to even think about proper cooking.

I hope that has an end now, as with all the goodies autumn brings to the markets and shops I feel a tiny bit of inspiration in the back of my mind. Let’s start with today’s low-key dish that’s neither elaborate nor time consuming. And yet very, very delicious.

Strolling over the market on Friday, I remembered the lone sweet potato in my veggie bin. Next I saw a really small Hokkaido pumpkin. I tried to pair the two in my mind, thinking something was missing, and came up with one of my favourite meats – pork tenderloin.

Pork Pumpkin Potato Skewers 01

I remembered having a sweet potato & pork on skewers recipe in my collection, as well as one that combined pork, potatoes and pears baked in the oven. The end result of my throwing these two together, discarding all the spices and adding new ones plus extra ingredients is what you see here today.

You’ll find there are no measurements for the ingredients today. That’s because you don’t really need any. It depends on the size of your rosemary stalks how much will fit on there, and of course on the number of people you want to feed. As a starter I’d serve 2 skewers per person. My pumpkin was very small, and I only used up a ¼ of it, ½ a sweet potato, and ½ a pork tenderloin. This made 5 skewers.

Pork Pumpkin Potato Skewers 022

Pork Tenderloin, Pumpkin & Sweet Potato On Rosemary Skewers

  • Servings: 3
  • Time: 50mins + 30 mins infusion
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

pork tenderloin
rosemary stalks
Hokkaido pumpkin
sweet potato [the orange kind]
garlic cloves
olive oil
salt
pepper
cane sugar
wooden skewer

The rosemary stalks should all have the same length. Remove the needles from the stalks (keep for later), leaving a few at the top.

Peel the sweet potato. Slice potato and pumpkin about 1 cm thick, then slice in half. Peel garlic cloves and halve them if they’re large. With a wooden skewer, pierce a hole through the vegetables.

Place the vegetables in a bowl, add oil, freshly ground salt and pepper, some cane sugar, and half of the rosemary needles. Let sit for at least 30 minutes.

Cut the pork tenderloin in 1 cm thick slices, place in a separate container, and add some olive oil, salt, pepper, and the remaining rosemary needles. Let sit.

Assemble the skewers, alternating the ingredients – start out with pumpkin on top, garlic, pork, garlic, sweet potato and so on. [You can halve the pork if it’s too big or heavy for the rosemary skewer.]

Place a baking rack over a baking sheet, arrange the skewers on top, and bake for about 20 minutes at 200°C.

Pork Pumpkin Potato Skewers 03

