Lemongrass & Chilli Burgers

As you might well have noticed if you’ve been following this blog, I don’t post meat recipes very often. The reason is very simple, I like meat but rarely can be bothered to cook it because of the whole what will I have to go with it question. I realise the issue with pasta, for example, is the same – I have to think of something to go with it but I guess the mind works in strange ways.

This morning I went to the market and bought some flatbread, the best I’ve ever had, and I buy some every time I happen to be there even if I don’t know what I’ll be having it with. I have to make the most of having that bakery stall there, because their shop is too far from where I live.

Lemongrass Chilli Burgers 01

Today was one of those days I knew I had to have meat. Minced beef or chicken? What the hell, let’s buy both and have meat two days in a row. Somehow I envisioned the same ingredients to go with both the minced beef and the chicken – lemongrass, chilli, garlic, coriander. I decided to leave the chicken for tomorrow, marinate it overnight in coriander, lime, oil, lemongrass and garlic, and then grill it.

Lemongrass Chilli Burgers 02

The lemongrass I knew I still had in the fridge was a bit old and dry, but I discarded the too-dry bits, chopped it then blitzed it in the food processor so it was really finely shredded, because you don’t want to bite into a burger and have dry lemongrass bits stuck in your teeth…

Lemongrass Chilli Burgers 03

Even though the flatbread was fresh I cut it in half and dry-roasted it in a pan to get it slightly seared. I decided to chop the coriander, add some liquids and spread it on the flatbread, topping it with the burgers. If just a burger on flatbread is too boring for you, you can add chopped salad as well, but I wanted it pure and enjoy the meat.

Success? Yes, most definitely! It was a very well-balanced mix of spices, the burgers turned out juicy under the oven grill, and I was very happy with the overall result. It’s definitely something you can make quickly for guests, too.

Lemongrass Chilli Burgers 04

Lemon Grass & Chilli Burgers

  • Servings: makes 8 small burgers
  • Print

400 g minced beef
salt
pepper
3 stalks of lemongrass
1 small garlic clove
4 small red chillies
1 – 2 handfuls of fresh coriander
olive oil
juice of ยฝ lemon
flatbread

makes 8 small burgers

Finely chop – one after the other – the lemongrass, garlic clove, chillies, and coriander. Put coriander aside for later.

Mix the chopped ingredients with the minced beef, adding salt and pepper. Form into 8 burgers and grill under the oven grill for 15 minutes at 200ยฐC (fan), then turn and grill for another 5 – 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, cut the flatbread into pieces that will fit a burger, cut in half and dry-roast in a frying pan until very slightly blackened.

Mix the chopped coriander with the lemon juice, a little salt, and some olive oil. Go easy on the olive oil – the coriander should not be swimming in it, it should be rather pasty so it can be spread.

Once the burgers are done, spread the coriander-oil-mix on the flatbread, then top with a burger and the second half of the flatbread. Bon appรฉtit!

Lemongrass Chilli Burgers 05

