Melon Butter

with Asparagus Crostini

I put that addition in as a sub-heading on purpose, because the emphasis here is on the melon butter. Everyone I’ve asked so far said asparagus crostini sounded good but without the melon butter. And I want people to give the melon butter a chance! It’s great!

I made tomato butter for a BBQ the other day, and then I was wondering what other kinds of butter I could make. On opening my fridge and seeing half a melon sitting there, an idea was born. It was a great idea, I love that butter! I made two kinds, one from a cantaloupe melon, the other from a honey melon. Both are equally good but taste different.

Wondering what this butter could possibly go with, a vision of crostini popped into my head. They had to have a hot topping, though, for the butter to melt. Asparagus. I know the season is officially over here in Germany, but I managed to grab the last ten asparagus stalks at the supermarket last Saturday. And as with the saying “It’s always 5 o’clock somewhere”, I’m sure it’s always asparagus season somewhere…

By the way, some of you know I don’t eat seafood, but if I did – I could imagine this butter to go with grilled shrimp!

Melon Butter 01

For the crostini I made two versions – one was topped with goat cheese, the other without. Both taste good, so I’d make both again. What makes more of a difference than the goat cheese, though, is that I rubbed the bread with garlic. That’s a must, it’s so tasty.

As for the melon butter, I can actually imagine that simply as a “normal” spread on toasted ciabatta, maybe as part of a cheese board. I just gave myself an idea there…

Don’t forget the butter needs to be made and have set before starting on the crostini.

Melon Butter 02

Melon Butter with Asparagus Crostini

Melon Butter
¼ cantaloupe melon
¼ honey melon
125 g soft butter

Remove seeds from both melons, cut flesh into small cubes, then purée each with a handheld blender.

Divide butter in two equal pieces, and in separate bowls add the puréed melon and beat with a fork until well blended. [My butter didn’t get smooth, but it doesn’t have to be. The important thing is that it’s well blended. I reverted to the handheld blender, though, because the puréed melon can get a little liquid, and the blender puffs the butter up better to absorb that.]

Refrigerate until set.

Melon Butter 03

Asparagus Crostini
10 asparagus stalks
6 slices ciabatta
1 garlic clove
creamy goat cheese
1 tsp butter for frying

Peel and cook the asparagus in salt water until done but not too soft. Drain, cut into 1.5 cm pieces, and fry in a little butter until slightly browned.

Meanwhile, toast the ciabatta slices, let cool for a minute, then rub with a garlic clove and spread goat cheese on top.

When the asparagus is browned, divide it among the crostini slices, and put some melon butter on top. Serve immediately.

Melon Butter 04

