Asparagus Linguine with Steak Strips in Lime Butter Sauce

Last week before I left the office I was a little stuck for what to cook. Also Whitsuntide lay ahead and I hadn’t even thought of food shopping yet. So I asked the colleague sitting next to me what he had planned for dinner that night. His answer was that it wasn’t anything special or inspiring but that the other night they had scampi in lemon butter sauce.

Lemon Butter Sauce 01

Lemon butter sauce sounded good to me, so he rattled off the recipe right away, and I was thinking of having it with either chicken or steak. I opted for steak strips, went shopping, and tried that recipe out the same night. I realised after I’d been shopping that I didn’t have lemons at home, only lime, so I used that.

Boy, am I glad I had asked my colleague that question! An amazingly quick sauce that is absolutely delicious and refreshing – albeit not exactly healthy due to the butter and cream… Despite its fatty ingredients, this sauce has a light and summery touch. And I always have the ingredients for it at home, so you can be sure I’ll be making this often.

Lemon Butter Sauce 02

Asparagus Linguine with Steak Strips in Lime Butter Sauce

Pasta, prefereably linguine
1 – 2 pieces of steak (I used beef filet)
10 asparagus stalks, peeled and cut into pieces

Sauce
6 tbsp butter
6 tbsp milk
6 tbsp cream
salt
pepper
½ tsp sugar
zest + juice of 1 lime

Feeds 2

Lemon Butter Sauce 03

Cook pasta according to package instructions, at the same time cook the asparagus pieces, adding salt as well as a pinch of sugar to the cooking water.

Start cooking the steaks to your taste – I cooked mine 4 minutes on each side. Take out of the pan, cut into thin strips, put those back in the pan, and cook on low heat until they’re browned to your taste.

For the sauce – best to start on that about 2 minutes before the pasta is done – add butter, milk, cream, salt, pepper, sugar and lemon zest to a small pot and bring to the boil. When the mixture has boiled for the first time, add the lime juice, get to boil once again, the simmer until your other ingredients are ready.

Drain pasta and asparagus, then arrange everything on deep plates, or mix everything together before dishing onto plates. You can actually take an immersion blender to the sauce before serving to froth it up a little, if you want it to look pretty…

Lemon Butter Sauce 04

