Avocado Fritters

When I read a post on Zucchini Fritters on Feed The Piglet a while back, I saw Johnny mentioning he could imagine this with avocado. Not realising he meant avocado as a side salad, I immediately had a vision of an avocado fritter in my head.

I had the basic ingredients made up – avocado, potato, lime, coriander, mozzarella, jalapeรฑo. And then… I forgot all about it. Every once in a while, when I bought an avocado for something else, I remembered wanting to make these fritters. And then… I forgot all about it… again.

Avocado Fritters 01

Having finally found some good coriander at an Indian shop – whereas normally you get little pots of measly, thin stalks at the garden center that then get eaten by some bugs within a week – I decided this would be the weekend to make avocado fritters. I stuck to the original ingredients, but used a red chilli instead of jalapeรฑo, because the last five I bought weren’t hot at all.

How did they turn out? I have mixed feelings about these fritters, to be honest. To have a rough guideline on ingredients other than the ones I had in mind, I checked out Nigella Lawson’s zucchini fritters recipe, which I’ve made before. It had egg and flour in it to bind all the ingredients, but I didn’t want to use those as I wanted to keep it as close to my vision as I could. I had thought that the mozzarella – once I had the fritters in the frying pan – would start to melt and keep all the ingredients together, but after a trial run with a small portion, I realised it wouldn’t hold and added some flour. Which didn’t do that much but it worked better.

Avocado Fritters 02

I hadn’t really thought through what I could or would serve with these fritters, so I decided to fry an egg and serve it on top of a fritter, with toasties and some sausages I had in the fridge.

Tastewise it was alright, although I would definitely make some tweaks here. Add mint instead of coriander, maybe another kind of cheese, more chilli, less salt. At the moment I don’t really feel like repeating this experiment, and if I’m honest I can’t make up my mind either whether this is really post-worthy. But what the heck – I’ve cooked it, I’ve taken the pictures, so here we are…

If anyone has any suggestions as to how this could be improved, let me know!

Avocado Fritters 03

Avocado Fritters

  • Servings: makes 3 large fritters
  • Print

1 avocado
2 large potatoes
1 – 2 red chillies
coriander
flour
salt
pepper
125 g ball of mozzarella
2 tbsp lime juice
olive oil for frying

Grate the potatoes into sticks and cook in boiling water for 10 minutes. Drain well, then dry on kitchen roll, squeezing out as much liquid as possible.

Cut the avocado and mozzarella into fine cubes. [I ran both over the grater with the “stick” attachment I used for the potatoes. It worked well but created quite a mess.]

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl, season to taste, then form thin-ish patties and fry in oil until they start to brown slightly.

Avocado Fritters 04

