Berry Cheesecake To Go

This was by no means the intended outcome of my baking a cheesecake. On Monday afternoon I expected family for coffee and cake, so I went shopping first thing that day. Just when I had left the big supermarket I realised I’d forgotten the quark (curd cheese) for the cheesecake. I didn’t fancy going back in, so I stopped at a small supermarket on the way home.

Cheesecake To Go 01

Apart from my t-shirt being full of splodges from mixing the batter, everything went perfectly well; the cake looked exactly right when it came out of the oven. To this day I have no idea why I thought I needed to turn it out of the tin and then turn it again onto a cooling rack – the cake was way too warm to be taken out and it just plopped onto the rack, a third of it escaping through the grid. I just stared at it, I couldn’t believe it.

Cheesecake To Go 02

So off I went to the small supermarket again to get  more quark. Luckily the second time round everything went exactly to plan. I was just about to chuck out the first disaster but couldn’t bring myself to do it, because apart from the missing third, it was still an OK cake. A quick think, and the vision of these little cheesecakes with cream and berries in jam jars appeared in my mind. Great idea for to-go cheesecake, maybe for taking to work.

Cheesecake To Go 03

For the cheesecake I used my recipe for Bottomless Cheesecake with Lemon Balm. I cut out circles with a cookie cutter that fit the size of my jam jars, cut those little rounds in half so they wouldn’t be too thick, and used two layers of cake per jar.

I added a little stabiliser to the cream as well as some cinnamon flower crushed in a mortar. Have you ever seen and/or smelled actual cinnamon flower? I recently won a set of absolutely gorgeous spices by commenting on another blog, and one of the spices was cinnamon flower. These little dried buds smell sweet and only subtly of cinnamon, nothing like the overpowering smell of ground cinnamon. I could really stick my nose into that jar of cinnamon flower every time I walk past it, it’s so lovely.

Cheesecake To Go 04

To complete these little to-go delights, I layered the cake and cream with strawberries cut into round slices and a few blueberries.

All in all, a small but sufficient portion of something absolutely delicious, and nice to look at, too.

Cheesecake To Go 05

