Wheat Berry Egg Salad

When I picked up my sister from work on Easter Sunday, one of her colleagues shoved a tray of 30 hardboiled coloured eggs into my hands and said “They’re on the house”. Apparently they were giveaways for customers but they had so many they knew they wouldn’t be able to give them all away within the two days of Easter.

So I said thank you, while my mind was already whirring what I could do with them apart from egg sandwiches. Egg salad was the first thing that came to mind but I’d never made one before, so I searched the web for inspiration. In the end I only looked at recipe titles instead of ingredients and made up my own salad, the way I usually do: ask myself what I would like to have in an egg salad if I were to order one in a restaurant.

Wheat Berry Egg Salad 03

As usual, I jotted down all the ingredients that spontaneously popped into my head. What I ended up with, though, was a basic recipe for a Wheat Berry Salad from The Blender (which is a Williams-Sonoma blog) that I had bookmarked to try one of these days, then adapted it to my liking both with regards to ingredients and dressing.

This turned out really well. The lime juice and the harissa in the dressing go well with the eggs and avocado, and the wheat berries, which by the way are bland on their own, are very filling. The whole combination, especially the citrusy and hot part, are just my thing. I’ll definitely be looking into more wheat berry recipes, too, after rediscovering them.

Wheat Berry Egg Salad 02

Wheat Berry Egg Salad

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: approx. 1hr 30mins
  • Print

Adapted from The Blender’s Wheat Berry Salad

1 cup wheat berries
6 cups water
salt

light mayonnaise
crème légère
harissa paste
juice of ½ lime

½ avocado
4 hardboiled eggs
cress

Add wheat berries and water to a pot, bring to the boil and let simmer – uncovered – for an hour. Shortly before cooking time is over add the salt. Drain and rinse under cool water, drain again and set aside to cool slightly.

For the dressing mix together some mayonnaise, crème légère, lime juice and harissa paste. Use a little of the harissa first as it is hot, then add more as required. Stir dressing into the wheat berries and mix well. [I added just enough so the wheat berries are slightly covered in the dressing but not smothered in it.]

Cut boiled eggs and avocado to your liking and add to the wheat berries, then sprinkle with some cress.

Wheat Berry Egg Salad 01

