Hazelnut & Marzipan Filled Yeast Pastries

In German these are called Buchteln, for which unfortunately the only translation that comes up in any serious dictionary is yeast pastry filled with jam or something similar. I’ll still call them Buchteln in this post as it’s way shorter. Buchteln are either served for coffee, or as a sweet main course, with vanilla sauce.

Every morning on my way to work I stop at my favourite bakery to get my breakfast Brezel. For the past two weeks I’ve been eyeing the Buchteln they had on display, and on my last working day before Easter I finally succumbed and bought some. They looked so yummy I wanted to make them, but thought I’d better have a taste so I’d get an idea what to aim for.

Buchteln 01

Those particular ones were filled with some hazelnutty stuff, I couldn’t determine what exactly it was. They looked like the filling had been put close to the surface and like during baking it burst open and showed. The recipe I found online at Dr. Oetker was for plain ones with a suggestion for different fillings, luckily one of them was hazelnut & marzipan. And they said to make a whole in the little yeast balls, stuff in some filling and roll them into balls again. Which made my filling sit closer to the middle and bottom, you couldn’t see it, but the taste… oh my… They actually tasted better than the ones at the bakery!

The recipe says you’ll get 12 pieces out of the dough, but I made smaller dough balls, set them quite close together even though you aren’t supposed to put them too close together, and got 20 pieces out of it. I also doubled the filling ingredients.

Buchteln 02

Hazelnut & Marzipan Filled Yeast Pastries (Buchteln)

Original recipe by Dr. Oetker

Buchteln
1 pack (8 g) vanilla sugar
250 ml milk
500 g flour
50 g sugar
75 g butter (+ extra for buttering dish + pastry)
zest of 1 lemon
pinch of salt
2 eggs (medium)
1 pack (9 g) dry yeast
icing sugar

Filling
200 g marzipan paste
200 g hazelnuts (either whole or chopped)
2 eggs

Buchteln 03

Heat milk in a small pot and melt butter in it (do not boil!).

In a large bowl, mix together flour and yeast. Add the warm milk-butter-mixture, then all the other ingredients. With a mixer, knead on lowest setting for 1 minute, then on highest setting for 5 minutes, until dough is smooth. [Mine looked rather lumpy after the kneading process, so don’t let that deter you.] Use a few drops of oil to coat the bowl, then cover bowl with a tea towel and leave in a warm place until dough has visibly risen.

Buchteln 04

Butter a pie dish (30 x 20 cm), and heat oven to 200°C/400°F or 180°C/350°F fan. Meanwhile, cut the marzipan into little pieces, chop the hazelnuts, though not too finely, mix both and add the eggs. Combine well and set aside.

Quickly knead dough again with your hands, then form into a log and cut it into 20 pieces. Form each piece into a disc, add some filling, then roll into a ball. Set all the dough balls into the buttered pie dish, then brush them all with some melted butter. Leave in a warm place for another 15 minutes, then bake for 25 minutes. [The original recipe said the dough balls should rise some more, mine didn’t really seem to have risen any more and still turned out exactly as they should.]

Sprinkle with powdered sugar and either serve while they’re still slightly warm, or cold.

Buchteln 05

