Fluffy Omelette à la Mexicana

Just before typing up this post, I was trying to remember how this dish came about, what inspired it. And I seriously can’t remember. All I know is that last night after work I went food shopping and was looking for ingredients for something Mexican style. No idea where the omelette thing came from, though, but once I’d thought of it I knew which recipe I was going to modify to make it. I have a sweet recipe for fluffy strawberry omelette and just left out the sugar and added some lime zest and hot spice instead.

What I was pondering was whether I should make the omelette mega-fluffy, cut it open and fill it with the other ingredients, or maybe add some of the ingredients to the batter. In the end I decided to bake the omelettes, then load everything on top. The other thought was whether to use raw ingredients for topping or cooked, so I cooked the onions, the beans and the frozen corn. Initially I had intended to use Cheddar cheese but didn’t feel like queuing at the cheese counter, so I decided to use something that was the total opposite of Mexican, namely Swiss Gruyère. Turned out to be a good choice.

Mexican Omelette 03

I definitely wanted fresh coriander sprinkled over the omelette, but I couldn’t get that anywhere last night. So today after meeting friends for breakfast I took a detour home and stopped at a garden center to get the coriander. Perfect. Just as the weather this morning, quite cold but very sunny and bright.

My idea of this Mexican style omelette turned out quite perfect, too. It was quick and easy to make and tasted great. I had a little mishap when I separated the eggs, though – the third egg yolk decided to take a dive straight into the three egg whites. Grrrrr. Luckily I had three more eggs left.

Mexican Omelette 05

And then, just when I had taken the last picture with my DSLR and grabbed my point & shoot camera, I leaned on the table slightly – this is a new acquisition for my balcony – and then CLANG! The blasted table folded together, the plate jumped up in the air, landed unbroken with the omelette still intact, only a few stray beans and strings of cheese escaping, and the water glass broken with water all over the floor. Double GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR. How could something that started out so perfectly go so wrong!? And yet I was lucky – no real damage, and my pictures were done.

Mexican Omelette 04

Fluffy Omelette à la Mexicana

  • Servings: makes 3 omelettes in a 20 cm/8in pan
  • Print

Omelettes
3 egg yolks
zest of 1 lime
a splash of squeezed lime
½ tsp salt
1 – 3 shakes of powdered chilli [I used Spicy Tangerine Rub]
1 tsp cornflour
3 egg whites
butter for frying

Topping
¼ avocado
splash of lime juice
1 tbsp mayonnaise
1 tbsp crème légère
grated Gruyère cheese
1 red onion
black beans
(frozen) corn
pickled jalapeños
cocktail tomatoes
fresh coriander

Mexican Omelette 01

Start with preparing the topping ingredients, otherwise your omelettes will go cold and the cheese won’t melt. Squash the avocado with a fork, add mayonnaise, crème légère, and a splash of lime juice. Halve onion and slice thinly, then fry in a little oil until softened. Take out of pan, then heat the corn and beans. Slice the cocktail tomatoes, chop the coriander, and grate the cheese.

Beat egg whites until stiff and put aside. Beat egg yolks together with a splash of squeezed lime, lime zest, and salt. Add the cornflour and chilli powder. Add the beaten egg whites, mix well, then heat butter in a small frying pan and bake three fluffy omelettes.

When each omelette is ready, load immediately with the toppings: Spread the avocado-mayo-mix onto the omelette, sprinkle with cheese, and add remaining ingredients (if the beans and corn are still hot, you can add more cheese on top), then sprinkle with the fresh coriander.

Mexican Omelette 02

