Savoury Crumble

The other day my friend and colleague had raw kohlrabi in her lunch box. Which made me think back on when I last ate kohlrabi. And I couldn’t remember, it must have been waaaay back in my childhood. So on my next food shopping trip I took home a few kohlrabi and have been enjoying it ever since.

I was thinking about what I could make from it and remembered the lone beetroot sitting in my vegetable bowl. A quick look in the fridge, and I could add violet carrots and parsley root. On a whim I decided to use up some potatoes, too.

Having been inspired by reading about various crumbles on other people’s blogs, I wanted to make a savoury crumble. I already knew the topping would include blue cheese – a mild one, though, – and hazelnuts, then changed my mind last minute after a visit to a local Christmas market, where I bought roasted chestnuts. I decided not to indulge in the whole bag but save some for the crumble. Unfortunately I didn’t remember that – neither the chestnuts nor the hazelnuts – the next day when I made the topping, but if I were to make this again I’d definitely give it a try.

Savoury Crumble 01

What I would also do next time is make a blue cheese sauce to go with the crumble. Not that it’s not good as is, but the topping was a little on the dry side. I didn’t want to overdo it with the butter but I guess I didn’t use enough in the end. And I would definitely increase the amount of blue cheese in the topping. Still, the idea of a cheese sauce to go with it appeals. [The amount of cheese and butter stated in the recipe below is what I would use next time.]

For the seasoning of the vegetables I stole from my own post Parchment Baked Beetroot & Potatoes, using olive oil, salt, pepper and honey. I had considered other spices but wasn’t sure how they would go with the cheese topping.

I roasted a lot of vegetables but used only a rather small pie dish, so if you wanted to try this and use a normal sized pie dish, you’d have to increase the amount of veggies and double or even triple the topping ingredients.

Savoury Crumble 02

Savoury Crumble

Crumble
1 kohlrabi
1 beetroot
1 parsley root
1 (violet) carrot
1 medium-sized potato
sea salt
freshly ground black pepper
olive oil
honey

Topping
100 g flour
30 – 80 g butter
60 – 100 g mild blue cheese

Savoury Crumble 03

Peel vegetables, cut into bite-sized cubes and mix them up in a bowl. [Don’t forget to wear rubber gloves if you use beetroot!]

Add olive oil, salt, pepper and honey, and mix well (with your hands, if you’re wearing the gloves). Spread the vegetables out on a baking sheet, and bake for 45 minutes – covered with aluminium foil – at 200°C / 180°C fan.

Meanwhile, make the topping by rubbing together the flour and about 60 g butter, then when it’s coming together in crumbles add about 80 g of the blue cheese [I used Bavaria Blu, a mild one, as I thought Roquefort or Gorgonzola would be too overpowering.]

Once the vegetables are done, spoon them into a pie dish, including some of the liquid they have produced during baking. Top with the remaining butter and blue cheese, and bake for 20 – 30 minutes, until it turns golden, at 200°C / 180°C fan.

Savoury Crumble 04

