Strawberry Margarita Mousse

Finally I managed to use another one of the recipes from my “filed and forgotten” folder. That is, I hadn’t actually forgotten about this one as it’s the first recipe that comes up in my mousse folder, but somehow I always skipped it. Until now.

The recipe is a rather old one from Prima magazine, published as strawberry mousse. I decided to spruce it up because for some reason strawberry margaritas had popped into my mind, so it became strawberry margarita mousse.

This is really so simple and delicious that I could kick my own butt for not having made this earlier. It could well become a standard in this here kitchen, especially for guests, and with the tequila and lime twist.

There is something that I would very likely change, though – I’d go easier on the gelatine, as this turned out quite firm. I had never used powdered gelatine before, so after this experiment I’d rather go with gelatine sheets next time.

Also, if you intend to make this, you have to make sure to use really ripe and sweet strawberries to get a great result, so trying before buying will be mandatory.

Strawberry Margarita Mousse

450 g strawberries, hulled and halved
125 g golden granulated sugar
1 packet powdered gelatine
1 tbsp freshly squeezed lime juice
1 tbsp tequila
1 – 2 tbsp (double) cream

In a saucepan, combine strawberries and sugar with 2 tbsp water. Cook gently over a low heat until sugar dissolves, then simmer for a further 10 – 15 minutes, until the strawberries are soft.

Remove from heat, and pour into a food processor. Add the lime juice and tequila, then sprinkle in the gelatine and whizz until strawberries have broken down and are all combined.

Transfer to a large bowl and leave to cool, then stir in cream. This may need to be whisked a little. [As we don’t have double cream in Germany, I had to use regular cream, which is much thinner. I whipped it a little with my milk frother normally used for making latte macchiato.] Refrigerate and leave to set. The mousse should be ready in a couple of hours.

