Chocolate Twists

This year I finally have a little travelling to look forward to again. I’ll be going to the UK, and I’ve already booked my flight to Heathrow. From there I’ll be driving South to take a cookery course – but more on that as the date gets closer, because I haven’t booked that yet.

Just knowing that I will be going to England already makes me happy. And it got me started thinking about what kinds of food I can look forward to. Which, in turn, reminded me of the last time I went, with my friend, remembering that we met for a cup of tea most days during her tradeshow breaks at a closeby Costa Coffee, and I always had a chocolate twist.

As I’m feeling quite creative these days I thought I’d try to make my own chocolate twists. Googled them to remind me of what exactly they look like, shopped for ingredients, and here we are.

Chocolate Twists

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

1 roll puff pastry (275 g)
70 g dark couverture
30 g butter
60 g cream
chopped nuts
icing sugar for dusting

Melt the couverture over a bain-marie, take from heat and stir in first butter until dissolved, then the cream. Stir until the mixture is a soft homogenous mass. Let cool for about an hour, or refrigerate overnight if you want to make the pastries the next day.

Unroll puff pastry and cut into 4 rectangles. Cut each of these into 4 strips. Prick each strip with a fork. Lay out half the strips on a baking sheet covered with baking parchment.

Using a palette knife, spread the ganache onto the laid out strips, sprinkle with the chopped nuts, then – this part can get messy – take one of the leftover strips, press one end onto the end of a ganache covered one, then twist it around it until the ends of both strips meet, then press them together slightly – I’m sure there’s a more elegant way to do this than the clumsy wrap-around attempt I made. Proceed the same way with the remaining puff pastry strips.

Bake on the middle shelf at 160Β°C / 325Β°F in a fan oven for 25 – 30 minutes. Let cool, then dust with icing sugar before serving.

Verdict: When these chocolate twists come out of the oven, I admit they are incredibly ugly – you wouldn’t order these at any coffeehouse. Dusted with icing sugar, though, they look quite presentable. As for taste – they’re every bit as delicious as the ones from Costa Coffee, and I will definitely make them again. I actually had quite a bit of ganache left over after making these, and I like the idea of having some in the fridge for emergencies – or rather sudden cravings… – and it will keep for a few days.

