Red Velvet Coconut Muffins

I’m not a Valentine’s Day person at all, but with each and every media available advertising the day, I remembered having a box of red velvet cake mix sitting in my kitchen cupboard, and red just seemed to fit in with the theme. I’ve never had red velvet cake before, but found the colour interesting and so made another impulse buy.

Now, everyone can bake a shop-bought cake mix, so I wanted to make something different than a plain cake from this mix. I have to admit, though, that I wasn’t very inspired today and also lacking enthusiasm, so the results are really nothing special at all.

Wanting to make the most of this mix, I divided it up in two batches, making these red velvet coconut muffins from one, and ones with a cream cheese filling from the other batch. For the coconut ones I added a layer of sweetened coconut flakes and topped them with a cream cheese & icing sugar mix. To the cream cheese ones I added a (too small) dollop of low-fat cream cheese and topped them with some leftover chocolate chili ganache from last week’s  lime crêpe lasagne. That didn’t look too exciting, so I tried some other things on top of that but gave up in the end.

As I said, the coconut ones aren’t exactly special, but I found out I really like red velvet cake mix. And some of the pictures I took also came out quite alright. So, would I make this again?  Yes, definitely, but I’d have a really, really good think way ahead of time as to what I want to add to the mix, and about some more professional looking frosting ideas.

Red Velvet Coconut Muffins

1 red velvet cake mix + extra ingredients as per box instructions
sweetened coconut flakes
(low-fat) cream cheese
icing sugar
liquid red food colouring
whipped cream stabiliser (optional)
cupcake liners

Makes 24 muffins

Mix contents of cake mix and extra ingredients according to packet instructions.

Place cupcake liners in two muffin tins and fill each to about half. Add a layer of coconut flakes and top with more cake mix. Bake at 325°F / 160°C for 20 minutes, take out of oven and leave to cool completely.

Mix cream cheese with icing sugar and whipped cream stabiliser (optional), then add red food colouring. Pipe onto the muffins and sprinkle with some coconut flakes. Keep refrigerated if not eaten straight away.

